Skip to content

Checked

Covington County, AL Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Covington County, Alabama.

Alabama home electricity
16.33¢/kWh
August 2026
Regular gas, region
$3.78/gal
Gulf Coast (PADD 3)
EV charging stations
2
3 ports
Electric utilities
7
Serving Covington County

Electric utilities serving Covington County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Alabama service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Alabama Power CoInvestor Owned1,557,73317.91¢/kWh$202/mo
Wiregrass Electric Coop, IncCooperative27,54915.97¢/kWh$194/mo
Covington Electric Coop, IncCooperative25,03717.62¢/kWh$200/mo
Southern Pine Elec Coop, IncCooperative22,92114.55¢/kWh$152/mo
Pioneer Electric Coop, Inc - (AL)Cooperative12,883Not reportedNot reported
City of AndalusiaMunicipal4,65716.16¢/kWh$158/mo
City of Opp - (AL)Municipal3,181Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Covington County

2 public stations, DC fast first

All 2

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Covington County?
Alabama Power Co, Wiregrass Electric Coop, Inc, Covington Electric Coop, Inc and 4 more report serving Covington County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Covington County?
There are 2 public EV charging stations in Covington County with 3 ports.
Are there power plants in Covington County?
Yes. Covington County has 4 operating power plants with 742 MW of capacity. The largest is McWilliams (654 MW, natural gas).