Checked
Butte County, CA Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Butte County, California.
- California home electricity
- 33.61¢/kWh
- July 2026
- California regular gas
- $6.03/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- EV charging stations
- 50
- 175 ports
- Electric utilities
- 4
- Serving Butte County
Electric utilities serving Butte County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole California service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pacific Gas & Electric Co.Investor Owned | 5,728,333 | 37.52¢/kWh | $174/mo |
| City of Gridley - (CA)Municipal | 3,144 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Biggs - (CA)Municipal | 747 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 94 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Butte County
50 public stations, DC fast first
- Chico, CA - Tesla Supercharger
1951 East 20th Street, Chico, CA 95928
18 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Town of Paradise - 230 Pearson
230 Pearson Rd, Paradise, CA 95969
8 DC fast · 2 Level 2 · EVCS · CHAdeMO, J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Holiday Inn Express Oroville
550 Oro Dam Blvd, Oroville, CA 95965
8 DC fast · 1 Level 2 · EVCS · CHAdeMO, J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Las Plumas Shopping Center - Tesla Supercharger
1060 Oroville Dam Blvd E, Oroville, CA 95965
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Boa Chico Main CA1-101 (Chico, CA)
400 Broadway St, Chico, CA 95928
4 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Chico 1 2 Public 1
2562 Cohasset Rd, Chico, CA 95973
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Chico 1 2 Public 2
2562 Cohasset Rd, Chico, CA 95973
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Compressed natural gas (CNG) | 1 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
| Propane (autogas) | 2 |
Power plants in Butte County
1.2 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Edward C Hyatt | Hydroelectric | 644 MW |
| Poe | Hydroelectric | 143 MW |
| Thermalito | Pumped storage hydro | 115 MW |
| Cresta | Hydroelectric | 73.8 MW |
| Woodleaf | Hydroelectric | 67.2 MW |
| Forbestown | Hydroelectric | 41.9 MW |
| De Sabla | Hydroelectric | 18.4 MW |
| Forks of Butte Hydro Project | Hydroelectric | 14.5 MW |
| Sly Creek | Hydroelectric | 12.1 MW |
| Kelly Ridge | Hydroelectric | 10.0 MW |
| Oroville Cogeneration, LLC | Natural gas | 7.7 MW |
| Centerville PH | Hydroelectric | 6.4 MW |
| Sierra Nevada Brewing Co Hybrid | Natural gas | 4.2 MW |
| Butte College Main Campus Solar | Solar | 3.5 MW |
| Thermalito Diverson Dam | Hydroelectric | 3.4 MW |
| Gridley Main Two | Solar | 2.5 MW |
| Ameresco Butte County | Biomass | 2.3 MW |
| Toadtown | Hydroelectric | 1.8 MW |
| Enloe Medical - Chico | Natural gas | 1.7 MW |
| Gridley Main | Solar | 1.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Butte County?
- Pacific Gas & Electric Co., City of Gridley - (CA), City of Biggs - (CA) and 1 more report serving Butte County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Butte County?
- There are 50 public EV charging stations in Butte County with 175 ports, 13 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Butte County?
- Yes. Butte County has 20 operating power plants with 1.2 GW of capacity. The largest is Edward C Hyatt (644 MW, hydroelectric).