Skip to content

Checked

Alaska Electricity Rates

Average price of electricity in Alaska, July 2026, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Recent months are preliminary.

Residential
28.83¢/kWh
July 2026
Commercial
23.29¢/kWh
July 2026
Industrial
24.81¢/kWh
July 2026
Average home bill
$147/mo
2025, 564 kWh a month

Alaska electricity prices, 5 years

Average cents per kilowatt-hour by month

ResidentialCommercialIndustrial
Show as a table
PeriodResidential
Jul 202628.83¢
Dec 202525.54¢
Dec 202423.65¢
Dec 202324.22¢
Dec 202222.20¢
Dec 202122.14¢

Residential price by month

Cents per kWh, homes, and change from the same month a year earlier

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

MonthPrice1 year changeCustomers
Jul 202628.83¢/kWh+5.6%305,661
Jun 202628.21¢/kWh+5.0%305,408
May 202628.23¢/kWh+8.2%304,489
Apr 202627.35¢/kWh+5.4%304,522
Mar 202627.17¢/kWh+5.4%306,357
Feb 202625.79¢/kWh+4.2%306,093
Jan 202625.52¢/kWh+3.2%305,211
Dec 202525.54¢/kWh+8.0%305,423
Nov 202526.18¢/kWh+5.5%303,853
Oct 202526.46¢/kWh+3.2%304,292
Sep 202527.16¢/kWh+5.1%303,443
Aug 202527.71¢/kWh+4.8%303,174
Jul 202527.30¢/kWh+5.8%302,870
Jun 202526.87¢/kWh+5.2%302,533
May 202526.08¢/kWh+3.7%302,069
Apr 202525.96¢/kWh+3.8%301,774
Mar 202525.79¢/kWh+3.8%301,371
Feb 202524.76¢/kWh+7.7%301,176
Jan 202524.73¢/kWh+3.4%301,191
Dec 202423.65¢/kWh-2.4%299,425
Nov 202424.81¢/kWh+2.8%299,738
Oct 202425.64¢/kWh+6.7%299,766
Sep 202425.84¢/kWh+5.2%299,233
Aug 202426.44¢/kWh+5.2%299,249

Electric utilities in Alaska

Largest by customers, 2025. Price and bill are for homes served with bundled generation and delivery

All 66

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
Chugach Electric Assn IncCooperative114,16322.97¢/kWh$113/mo
Matanuska Electric Assn IncCooperative72,29624.54¢/kWh$144/mo
Golden Valley Elec Assn IncCooperative48,55431.47¢/kWh$178/mo
Homer Electric Assn IncCooperative34,60031.51¢/kWh$149/mo
Alaska Electric Light & Power Co.Investor Owned18,16613.73¢/kWh$125/mo
Alaska Village Elec Coop, IncCooperative11,48765.93¢/kWh$319/mo
Alaska Power and Telephone CoInvestor Owned8,53641.78¢/kWh$172/mo
Ketchikan Public UtilitiesMunicipal8,03013.88¢/kWh$138/mo
Kodiak Electric Assn IncCooperative6,33719.47¢/kWh$134/mo
City & Borough of Sitka - (AK)Municipal5,800Not reportedNot reported
Copper Valley Elec Assn, IncCooperative4,055Not reportedNot reported
City of Seward - (AK)Municipal2,870Not reportedNot reported
Petersburg Borough - (AK)Municipal2,334Not reportedNot reported
Nome Joint Utility SystemsMunicipal2,333Not reportedNot reported
Barrow Utils & Elec Coop, IncCooperative1,998Not reportedNot reported
City of Wrangell - (AK)Municipal1,881Not reportedNot reported
Cordova Electric Coop, IncCooperative1,686Not reportedNot reported
Nushagak Electric Coop, IncCooperative1,485Not reportedNot reported
Inside Passage Elec Coop, IncCooperative1,425Not reportedNot reported
Kotzebue Electric Assn IncCooperative1,34252.23¢/kWh$276/mo
North Slope Borough Power & Light (AK)Municipal1,243Not reportedNot reported
Naknek Electric Assn, IncCooperative1,100Not reportedNot reported
City of Unalaska - (AK)Municipal1,044Not reportedNot reported
Metlakatla Power & LightMunicipal1,024Not reportedNot reported
Galena Electric UtilityMunicipal394Not reportedNot reported
Unalakleet Valley Elec CoopCooperative385Not reportedNot reported
Gwitchyaa Zhee Utility CoInvestor Owned366Not reportedNot reported
City of King Cove - (AK)Municipal319Not reportedNot reported
I-N-N Electric Coop, IncCooperative293Not reportedNot reported
Akiachak Native Community ElectricCooperative274Not reportedNot reported
McGrath Light & Power CoInvestor Owned256Not reportedNot reported
Kuiggluum KallugviaInvestor Owned241Not reportedNot reported
City of Saint Paul - (AK)Municipal210Not reportedNot reported
Aniak Light & Power Co IncInvestor Owned181Not reportedNot reported
Middle Kuskokwim Elec Coop IncCooperative179Not reportedNot reported
City of Tenakee Springs - (AK)Municipal175Not reportedNot reported
TDX North Slope Generating CoInvestor Owned162Not reportedNot reported
Tanana Power Co IncInvestor Owned161Not reportedNot reported
Tuntutuliak Comm Services AssnCooperative145Not reportedNot reported
Gold Country EnergyInvestor Owned137Not reportedNot reported

Price is revenue divided by kilowatt-hours sold. Where customers can choose a retail electricity supplier, the utility that delivers power may report only delivery charges, so its price can look lower than what customers pay in total.

Frequently asked questions

What is the average electricity rate in Alaska?
Homes in Alaska paid an average of 28.83¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with 27.30¢/kWh a year earlier. The U.S. average was 18.31¢/kWh.
Is electricity expensive in Alaska?
Alaska had the 6th highest average residential price of 51 states and DC in July 2026.
What is the average electric bill in Alaska?
The average Alaska home used 564 kWh a month and paid $147.18 a month in 2025, according to EIA.
What is the largest electric utility in Alaska?
Chugach Electric Assn Inc serves the most customers in Alaska, about 114,163 in 2025.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861M and Form EIA-861 · Data for July 2026