Skip to content

Checked

Kansas Electricity Rates

Average price of electricity in Kansas, July 2026, from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Recent months are preliminary.

Residential
15.27¢/kWh
July 2026
Commercial
12.04¢/kWh
July 2026
Industrial
8.52¢/kWh
July 2026
Average home bill
$126/mo
2025, 876 kWh a month

Kansas electricity prices, 5 years

Average cents per kilowatt-hour by month

ResidentialCommercialIndustrial
Show as a table
PeriodResidential
Jul 202615.27¢
Dec 202514.43¢
Dec 202413.80¢
Dec 202312.72¢
Dec 202213.24¢
Dec 202112.75¢

Residential price by month

Cents per kWh, homes, and change from the same month a year earlier

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

MonthPrice1 year changeCustomers
Jul 202615.27¢/kWh+5.6%1,360,505
Jun 202615.71¢/kWh+4.5%1,357,813
May 202615.13¢/kWh+2.7%1,360,260
Apr 202615.78¢/kWh+6.5%1,355,296
Mar 202615.34¢/kWh+7.0%1,356,250
Feb 202615.11¢/kWh+10.5%1,353,463
Jan 202614.29¢/kWh+7.0%1,352,094
Dec 202514.43¢/kWh+4.6%1,349,853
Nov 202515.10¢/kWh+2.9%1,348,616
Oct 202515.17¢/kWh+5.8%1,347,706
Sep 202515.20¢/kWh+3.5%1,347,919
Aug 202514.77¢/kWh+2.4%1,348,519
Jul 202514.46¢/kWh-2.6%1,345,624
Jun 202515.04¢/kWh+6.6%1,343,798
May 202514.73¢/kWh+5.2%1,342,774
Apr 202514.82¢/kWh+4.1%1,339,586
Mar 202514.34¢/kWh+1.9%1,338,486
Feb 202513.67¢/kWh+0.5%1,337,990
Jan 202513.36¢/kWh+3.5%1,336,768
Dec 202413.80¢/kWh+8.5%1,323,221
Nov 202414.67¢/kWh+12.5%1,321,889
Oct 202414.34¢/kWh+6.6%1,321,047
Sep 202414.69¢/kWh+11.3%1,321,505
Aug 202414.43¢/kWh+8.1%1,321,982

Electric utilities in Kansas

Largest by customers, 2025. Price and bill are for homes served with bundled generation and delivery

All 152

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
Evergy Kansas Central, IncInvestor Owned399,37914.56¢/kWh$124/mo
Evergy Kansas South, IncInvestor Owned349,94214.54¢/kWh$125/mo
Evergy MetroInvestor Owned279,83513.21¢/kWh$129/mo
City of Kansas City - (KS)Municipal69,09214.93¢/kWh$120/mo
Midwest Energy Inc - (KS)Cooperative50,20012.01¢/kWh$107/mo
Wheatland Electric Coop, IncCooperative32,33815.01¢/kWh$130/mo
Prairie Land Electric Coop IncCooperative24,53814.79¢/kWh$124/mo
Victory Electric Coop Assn IncCooperative20,56912.35¢/kWh$104/mo
FreeState Electric CoopCooperative19,14417.84¢/kWh$194/mo
Southern Pioneer Electric CompanyCooperative17,11716.43¢/kWh$124/mo
Pioneer Electric Coop, Inc - (KS)Cooperative16,15611.85¢/kWh$121/mo
4 Rivers Electric Cooperative, Inc.Cooperative12,481Not reportedNot reported
Western Coop Electric Assn IncCooperative12,07214.56¢/kWh$127/mo
City of Garden CityMunicipal11,98516.51¢/kWh$112/mo
Rolling Hills Electric CoopCooperative11,477Not reportedNot reported
Heartland Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative11,444Not reportedNot reported
City of Gardner - (KS)Municipal10,494Not reportedNot reported
Empire District Electric CoInvestor Owned9,98713.35¢/kWh$142/mo
City of McPherson - (KS)Municipal9,0189.51¢/kWh$97/mo
DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc.Cooperative8,567Not reportedNot reported
Sedgwick County El Coop Assn IncCooperative8,530Not reportedNot reported
Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS)Cooperative7,873Not reportedNot reported
Bluestem Electric Coop IncCooperative7,664Not reportedNot reported
City of Winfield - (KS)Municipal7,57213.52¢/kWh$110/mo
Flint Hills Rural E C A, IncCooperative6,644Not reportedNot reported
City of Ottawa - (KS)Municipal6,444Not reportedNot reported
CMS Electric Coop IncCooperative5,89521.72¢/kWh$144/mo
Lane-Scott Electric Coop, IncCooperative5,713Not reportedNot reported
City of Coffeyville - (KS)Municipal5,70512.42¢/kWh$107/mo
City of Chanute (KS)Municipal5,54714.56¢/kWh$114/mo
Ark Valley Elec Coop Assn, IncCooperative5,283Not reportedNot reported
Caney Valley El Coop Assn, IncCooperative5,128Not reportedNot reported
Sumner-Cowley Elec Coop, IncCooperative4,586Not reportedNot reported
City of Pratt- (KS)Municipal4,444Not reportedNot reported
City of Wellington - (KS)Municipal4,320Not reportedNot reported
City of Augusta - (KS)Municipal4,236Not reportedNot reported
Ninnescah Rural E C A IncCooperative4,218Not reportedNot reported
City of Iola - (KS)Municipal3,643Not reportedNot reported
Nemaha-Marshall E C A, IncCooperative3,555Not reportedNot reported
City of Russell - (KS)Municipal3,314Not reportedNot reported

Price is revenue divided by kilowatt-hours sold. Where customers can choose a retail electricity supplier, the utility that delivers power may report only delivery charges, so its price can look lower than what customers pay in total.

Frequently asked questions

What is the average electricity rate in Kansas?
Homes in Kansas paid an average of 15.27¢/kWh per kilowatt-hour in July 2026, compared with 14.46¢/kWh a year earlier. The U.S. average was 18.31¢/kWh.
Is electricity expensive in Kansas?
Kansas had the 35th highest average residential price of 51 states and DC in July 2026.
What is the average electric bill in Kansas?
The average Kansas home used 876 kWh a month and paid $126.42 a month in 2025, according to EIA.
What is the largest electric utility in Kansas?
Evergy Kansas Central, Inc serves the most customers in Kansas, about 399,379 in 2025.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861M and Form EIA-861 · Data for July 2026