Skip to content

Checked

Polk County, FL Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Polk County, Florida.

Florida home electricity
15.03¢/kWh
July 2026
Florida regular gas
$3.98/gal
Week of 10/19/2026
EV charging stations
75
256 ports
Electric utilities
7
Serving Polk County

Electric utilities serving Polk County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Florida service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Duke Energy Florida, LLCInvestor Owned2,037,98518.36¢/kWh$185/mo
Tampa Electric CoInvestor Owned861,41317.32¢/kWh$194/mo
Withlacoochee River Elec CoopCooperative255,50613.70¢/kWh$171/mo
City of Lakeland - (FL)Municipal137,58211.73¢/kWh$136/mo
Peace River Electric Coop, IncCooperative70,94612.84¢/kWh$151/mo
City of Bartow - (FL)Municipal13,60211.69¢/kWh$136/mo
City of Fort Meade - (FL)Municipal2,872Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Polk County

75 public stations, DC fast first

All 75

Alternative fuel stations

Power plants in Polk County

6.7 GW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Hines Energy ComplexNatural gas2.3 GW
PolkNatural gas1.5 GW
C D McIntosh JrNatural gas667 MW
Osprey Energy Center Power PlantNatural gas644 MW
Tiger BayNatural gas278 MW
Orange Cogeneration FacilityNatural gas157 MW
Mosaic New Wales OperationsOther136 MW
Larsen MemorialNatural gas134 MW
Mulberry Cogeneration FacilityNatural gas128 MW
Lake Mabel Solar and Battery StorageSolar115 MW
Mosaic Co Bartow FacilityOther81.9 MW
Jamison Solar (FL)Solar74.5 MW
Magnolia SolarSolar74.5 MW
Payne Creek SolarSolar70.3 MW
Alafia SolarSolar60.0 MW
DurranceSolar60.0 MW
Peace Creek SolarSolar55.4 MW
WinstonPetroleum50.0 MW
Lake Hancock SolarSolar49.5 MW
Mosaic South Pierce OperationsOther38.0 MW
Bonnie Mine SolarSolar37.5 MW
Florida's Natural GrowersNatural gas10.7 MW
Cutrale Citrus Juices USA IINatural gas8.2 MW
Bartow Solar Energy LLCSolar7.3 MW
LKL Blbd, LLCSolar6.0 MW
Lakeland Electric Co. (FL) - Airport IISolar3.5 MW
GoldfinchSolar3.0 MW
Lakeland Electric Co. (FL)-Airport 1Solar2.3 MW
Legoland SolarSolar1.4 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Polk County?
Duke Energy Florida, LLC, Tampa Electric Co, Withlacoochee River Elec Coop and 4 more report serving Polk County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Polk County?
There are 75 public EV charging stations in Polk County with 256 ports, 27 of them with DC fast charging.
Are there power plants in Polk County?
Yes. Polk County has 29 operating power plants with 6.7 GW of capacity. The largest is Hines Energy Complex (2.3 GW, natural gas).