Checked
Johnson County, IA Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Johnson County, Iowa.
- Iowa home electricity
- 15.99¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 60
- 134 ports
- Electric utilities
- 7
- Serving Johnson County
Electric utilities serving Johnson County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Iowa service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| MidAmerican Energy CoInvestor Owned | 746,438 | 11.21¢/kWh | $93/mo |
| Interstate Power and Light CoInvestor Owned | 506,498 | 17.77¢/kWh | $131/mo |
| Corridor Energy CooperativeCooperative | 35,447 | 14.18¢/kWh | $126/mo |
| Eastern Iowa Light & Power CoopCooperative | 23,856 | 14.81¢/kWh | $177/mo |
| East-Central Iowa Rural Elec CoopCooperative | 9,261 | 13.13¢/kWh | $186/mo |
| T I P Rural Electric CoopCooperative | 6,613 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Farmers Electric Coop - (IA)Cooperative | 650 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Johnson County
60 public stations, DC fast first
- Coralville, IA - Tesla Supercharger
1914 8th Street, Coralville, IA 52241
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Iowa City, IA - Tesla Supercharger
1103 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Iowa City Maverik
731 South Riverside Drive, Iowa City, IA 52246
4 DC fast · ChargeLab · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Iowa River Landing
921 Ponseti Wy, Iowa City, IA 52241
2 DC fast · ChargeLab · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Billion Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac Iowa City
2733 MORMAN TREK, IOWA CITY, IA 52240
1 DC fast · EV Connect · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Maverik Coralville Dc1
822 1st ave, Coralville, IA 52241
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Maverik Coralville Dc2
822 1st ave, Coralville, IA 52241
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Mega Retail 2 Mega 1
2580 Moss Ridge Rd, Iowa City, IA 52245
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Mega Retail 2 Mega 2
2580 Moss Ridge Rd, Iowa City, IA 52245
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- 1705 S First Ave Iowa City IA 52245
1705 S First Ave, Iowa City, IA 52240
4 Level 2 · SynergEV · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 12 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 11 |
| Propane (autogas) | 3 |
Power plants in Johnson County
124 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Coralville GT | Natural gas | 72.0 MW |
| University of Iowa Main Power Plant | Natural gas | 40.5 MW |
| Farmers Electric Cooperative - Kalona | Petroleum | 6.0 MW |
| Johnson County Hills Solar | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Oakdale Renewable Energy Plant | Natural gas | 2.8 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Johnson County?
- MidAmerican Energy Co, Interstate Power and Light Co, Corridor Energy Cooperative and 4 more report serving Johnson County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Johnson County?
- There are 60 public EV charging stations in Johnson County with 134 ports, 10 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Johnson County?
- Yes. Johnson County has 5 operating power plants with 124 MW of capacity. The largest is Coralville GT (72.0 MW, natural gas).