Checked
Monroe County, IA Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Monroe County, Iowa.
- Iowa home electricity
- 15.99¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 1
- 2 ports
- Electric utilities
- 3
- Serving Monroe County
Electric utilities serving Monroe County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Iowa service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| MidAmerican Energy CoInvestor Owned | 746,438 | 11.21¢/kWh | $93/mo |
| Interstate Power and Light CoInvestor Owned | 506,498 | 17.77¢/kWh | $131/mo |
| Chariton Valley Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 6,344 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Monroe County
1 public stations, DC fast first
- Chariton Valley Cvec Courthouse
10 Washington Ave E, Albia, IA 52531
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 2 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
Power plants in Monroe County
40.0 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Cargill Corn Milling Division | Natural gas | 40.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Monroe County?
- MidAmerican Energy Co, Interstate Power and Light Co, Chariton Valley Elec Coop, Inc report serving Monroe County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Monroe County?
- There are 1 public EV charging stations in Monroe County with 2 ports.
- Are there power plants in Monroe County?
- Yes. Monroe County has 1 operating power plant with 40.0 MW of capacity. The largest is Cargill Corn Milling Division (40.0 MW, natural gas).