Skip to content

Checked

Champaign County, IL Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Champaign County, Illinois.

Illinois home electricity
19.22¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$4.15/gal
Midwest (PADD 2)
EV charging stations
65
174 ports
Electric utilities
5
Serving Champaign County

Electric utilities serving Champaign County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Illinois service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Ameren Illinois CompanyInvestor Owned1,229,94016.70¢/kWh$148/mo
Corn Belt Energy CorporationCooperative37,46815.59¢/kWh$148/mo
Eastern Illinois Elec CoopCooperative13,35617.68¢/kWh$228/mo
Village of Rantoul - (IL)Municipal6,099Not reportedNot reported
University of IllinoisState1Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Champaign County

65 public stations, DC fast first

All 65

Alternative fuel stations

Power plants in Champaign County

272 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Champaign County?
Ameren Illinois Company, Corn Belt Energy Corporation, Eastern Illinois Elec Coop and 2 more report serving Champaign County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Champaign County?
There are 65 public EV charging stations in Champaign County with 174 ports, 14 of them with DC fast charging.
Are there power plants in Champaign County?
Yes. Champaign County has 17 operating power plants with 272 MW of capacity. The largest is Prairie Solar LLC (135 MW, solar).