Checked
Knox County, IL Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Knox County, Illinois.
- Illinois home electricity
- 19.22¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 4
- 18 ports
- Electric utilities
- 4
- Serving Knox County
Electric utilities serving Knox County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Illinois service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ameren Illinois CompanyInvestor Owned | 1,229,940 | 16.70¢/kWh | $148/mo |
| Corn Belt Energy CorporationCooperative | 37,468 | 15.59¢/kWh | $148/mo |
| McDonough Power CoopCooperative | 4,980 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Spoon River Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 4,890 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Knox County
4 public stations, DC fast first
- Galesburg, IL - Tesla Supercharger
2030 E Main St, Galesburg, IL 61401
12 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 5 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in Knox County
16.0 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Elba Solar LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Illinois PV Knox 1B | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Illinois PV Knox 1A | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Illinois PV Knox 3A | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Illinois PV Knox 3B | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Illinois PV Knox 2A | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Illinois PV Knox 2B | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Galesburg 650 Solar 1, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Knox County?
- Ameren Illinois Company, Corn Belt Energy Corporation, McDonough Power Coop and 1 more report serving Knox County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Knox County?
- There are 4 public EV charging stations in Knox County with 18 ports, 1 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Knox County?
- Yes. Knox County has 8 operating power plants with 16.0 MW of capacity. The largest is Elba Solar LLC (2.0 MW, solar).