Checked
Marion County, IL Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Marion County, Illinois.
- Illinois home electricity
- 19.22¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 7
- 38 ports
- Electric utilities
- 6
- Serving Marion County
Electric utilities serving Marion County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Illinois service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ameren Illinois CompanyInvestor Owned | 1,229,940 | 16.70¢/kWh | $148/mo |
| Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL)Cooperative | 24,885 | 15.37¢/kWh | $178/mo |
| Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (IL)Cooperative | 16,612 | 16.18¢/kWh | $201/mo |
| Wayne-White Counties Elec CoopCooperative | 13,655 | 16.39¢/kWh | $176/mo |
| Clinton County Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 6,277 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Clay Electric Coop Inc - (IL)Cooperative | 3,261 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Marion County
7 public stations, DC fast first
- Salem, IL - Tesla Supercharger
1510 W Main St, Salem, IL 62881
12 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Centralia Motel & Extended Stay
215 S Poplar St, Centralia, IL 62801
4 DC fast · Universal EV Chargers · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Holiday Inn Express and Suites Salem - Tesla Destination
102 Holiday Ln, Salem, IL 62881
3 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · Tesla (NACS)
- Cpf50 Copperfieldcpf5
221 South Elm Street, Centralia, IL 62801
1 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 5 |
Power plants in Marion County
372 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Kinmundy | Natural gas | 270 MW |
| Crooked Creek PV I | Solar | 99.0 MW |
| Marion Solar 4b LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Marion Solar 2 | Solar | 1.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Marion County?
- Ameren Illinois Company, Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL), Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (IL) and 3 more report serving Marion County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Marion County?
- There are 7 public EV charging stations in Marion County with 38 ports, 4 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Marion County?
- Yes. Marion County has 4 operating power plants with 372 MW of capacity. The largest is Kinmundy (270 MW, natural gas).