Skip to content

Checked

Wells County, IN Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Wells County, Indiana.

Indiana home electricity
16.73¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$4.15/gal
Midwest (PADD 2)
EV charging stations
2
2 ports
Electric utilities
4
Serving Wells County

Electric utilities serving Wells County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Indiana service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Duke Energy Indiana, LLCInvestor Owned921,80414.98¢/kWh$149/mo
Indiana Michigan Power CoInvestor Owned485,54317.16¢/kWh$146/mo
City of Bluffton - (IN)Municipal6,04710.16¢/kWh$87/mo
Jay County Rural E M CCooperative5,446Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Wells County

2 public stations, DC fast first

All 2

Power plants in Wells County

236 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Montpelier Electric Generating StationNatural gas236 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Wells County?
Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Indiana Michigan Power Co, City of Bluffton - (IN) and 1 more report serving Wells County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Wells County?
There are 2 public EV charging stations in Wells County with 2 ports.
Are there power plants in Wells County?
Yes. Wells County has 1 operating power plant with 236 MW of capacity. The largest is Montpelier Electric Generating Station (236 MW, natural gas).