Checked
Berrien County, MI Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Berrien County, Michigan.
- Michigan home electricity
- 23.05¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 21
- 83 ports
- Electric utilities
- 3
- Serving Berrien County
Electric utilities serving Berrien County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Michigan service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana Michigan Power CoInvestor Owned | 132,635 | 17.19¢/kWh | $143/mo |
| Midwest Energy Cooperative - (MI)Cooperative | 35,744 | 19.49¢/kWh | $189/mo |
| City of Niles - (MI)Municipal | 6,763 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Berrien County
21 public stations, DC fast first
- Benton Harbor, MI - Tesla Supercharger
1920 Pipestone Road, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
12 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Stevensville, MI - Tesla Supercharger
5019 Red Arrow Hwy, Stevensville, MI 49127
12 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- St. Joseph, MI - Tesla Supercharger
3260 Niles Rd, St. Joseph, MI 49085
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Benton Harbor, MI
2680 M-139, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
6 DC fast · Rivian Adventure Network · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Meijer 041 (Benton Harbor, MI)
1920 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
6 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Mechanic St New Buffalo MI
114 E Mechanic St, New Buffalo, MI 49117
3 DC fast · 2 Level 2 · Red E · CHAdeMO, J1772 (Level 2)
- Signature Dealer Group, Inc. - Hyundai
680 East Napier Avenue, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
4 DC fast · Blink · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Ozinga New Buffalo Mi
825 S Whittaker St, New Buffalo, MI 49117
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Signature - Toyota 1 East
680 East Napier Avenue, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Compressed natural gas (CNG) | 1 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 5 |
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in Berrien County
2.3 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Donald C Cook | Nuclear | 2.3 GW |
| Berrien Springs | Hydroelectric | 7.2 MW |
| Southeast Berrien Generating Facility | Biomass | 4.8 MW |
| Watervliet PV | Solar | 4.6 MW |
| Buchanan (MI) | Hydroelectric | 4.4 MW |
| Watervliet | Biomass | 4.0 MW |
| French Paper Hydro | Hydroelectric | 1.3 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Berrien County?
- Indiana Michigan Power Co, Midwest Energy Cooperative - (MI), City of Niles - (MI) report serving Berrien County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Berrien County?
- There are 21 public EV charging stations in Berrien County with 83 ports, 11 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Berrien County?
- Yes. Berrien County has 7 operating power plants with 2.3 GW of capacity. The largest is Donald C Cook (2.3 GW, nuclear).