Checked
Kent County, MI Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Kent County, Michigan.
- Michigan home electricity
- 23.05¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 118
- 305 ports
- Electric utilities
- 3
- Serving Kent County
Electric utilities serving Kent County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Michigan service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consumers Energy Co - (MI)Investor Owned | 1,901,950 | 20.66¢/kWh | $134/mo |
| Great Lakes Energy CoopCooperative | 135,145 | 20.32¢/kWh | $128/mo |
| City of Lowell - (MI)Municipal | 3,200 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Kent County
118 public stations, DC fast first
- Caledonia, MI - Tesla Supercharger
1801 Marketplace Dr SE, Caledonia, MI 49316
12 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Grand Rapids, MI - Lake Michigan Drive Northwest - Tesla Supercharger
2755 Lake Michigan Dr NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Grand Rapids, MI - Tesla Supercharger
5531 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Meijer #20 (Grand Rapids, MI)
2425 Alpine Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
6 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Walker, MI
2425 Alpine Avenue Northwest, Walker, MI 49544
6 DC fast · Rivian Adventure Network · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Audi Grand Rapids
6045 28th St SE, Cascade, MI 49546
2 DC fast · 2 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- FasCharge 5725 Admiral Marathon Walker
2366 Alpine Ave NW, Walker, MI 49544
4 DC fast · Red E · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Lafontaine Ford of Grand Rapids
3385 Alpine Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
4 DC fast · Ford Charge · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Walker, MI - Tesla Supercharger
2988 Walker Avenue, Walker, MI 49544
4 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Berger EV Lot Bergerchevy L3a
2770 Breton Rd SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
2 DC fast · ChargePoint · CCS (J1772 Combo)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 32 |
| Propane (autogas) | 6 |
Power plants in Kent County
72.3 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Ada Cogeneration LP | Natural gas | 33.1 MW |
| Kent County Waste to Energy Facility | Biomass | 18.0 MW |
| Chatham | Natural gas | 7.3 MW |
| Byrne Solar, LLC | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Bryon Center | Biomass | 4.8 MW |
| Cascade Dam (MI) | Hydroelectric | 1.6 MW |
| Ada Dam | Hydroelectric | 1.4 MW |
| Bissell Solar and Battery Generator | Solar | 1.1 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Kent County?
- Consumers Energy Co - (MI), Great Lakes Energy Coop, City of Lowell - (MI) report serving Kent County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Kent County?
- There are 118 public EV charging stations in Kent County with 305 ports, 31 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Kent County?
- Yes. Kent County has 8 operating power plants with 72.3 MW of capacity. The largest is Ada Cogeneration LP (33.1 MW, natural gas).