Checked
Douglas County, MN Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Douglas County, Minnesota.
- Minnesota home electricity
- 17.45¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Minnesota regular gas
- $4.18/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- EV charging stations
- 9
- 28 ports
- Electric utilities
- 7
- Serving Douglas County
Electric utilities serving Douglas County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Minnesota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned | 1,389,331 | 17.07¢/kWh | $105/mo |
| Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned | 63,450 | 11.27¢/kWh | $102/mo |
| Lake Region Electric Cooperative - (MN)Cooperative | 30,328 | 13.60¢/kWh | $143/mo |
| Stearns Cooperative Elec AssnCooperative | 28,746 | 14.07¢/kWh | $177/mo |
| Runestone Electric AssnCooperative | 15,469 | 14.75¢/kWh | $176/mo |
| City of Alexandria - (MN)Municipal | 10,817 | 11.99¢/kWh | $91/mo |
| Todd-Wadena Electric CoopCooperative | 9,389 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Douglas County
9 public stations, DC fast first
- Alexandria, MN - Tesla Supercharger
4404 MN-29, Alexandria, MN 56308
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Menards Alexandria 3183 (Alexandria, MN)
215 50th Ave W, Alexandria, MN 56308
6 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Pilot Travel Center 590
3181 Evergreen Lane, Alexandria, MN 56308
4 DC fast · EVgo · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Juettner Motors
1900 Broadway S Lot A, Alexandria, MN 56308
2 DC fast · Ford Charge · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Simonson Station Store Alexandria
4924 Minnesota 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
2 DC fast · Zef Network · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Alexandria Motor Company
3710 South, MN-29, Alexandria, MN 56308
1 DC fast · EV Connect · CCS (J1772 Combo)
Temporarily unavailable - Diamond Buick GMC of Alexandria
5803 State Highway 29 S, Alexandria, MN 56308
1 DC fast · Non-networked · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Runestone Electric
6839 Power Lane Southwest, Alexandria, MN 56308
2 Level 2 · Zef Network · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 2 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 2 |
Power plants in Douglas County
17.2 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Alexandria | Petroleum | 9.2 MW |
| Novel OYA of Osakis CSG | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Novel Herickhoff Solar CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| FastSun 13 CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Douglas Todd Community Solar One LLC CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Douglas County?
- Northern States Power Co - Minnesota, Otter Tail Power Co, Lake Region Electric Cooperative - (MN) and 4 more report serving Douglas County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Douglas County?
- There are 9 public EV charging stations in Douglas County with 28 ports, 7 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Douglas County?
- Yes. Douglas County has 5 operating power plants with 17.2 MW of capacity. The largest is Alexandria (9.2 MW, petroleum).