Checked
Freeborn County, MN Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Freeborn County, Minnesota.
- Minnesota home electricity
- 17.45¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Minnesota regular gas
- $4.18/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- EV charging stations
- 6
- 20 ports
- Electric utilities
- 4
- Serving Freeborn County
Electric utilities serving Freeborn County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Minnesota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned | 1,389,331 | 17.07¢/kWh | $105/mo |
| Freeborn Mower Electric CooperativeCooperative | 21,327 | 15.28¢/kWh | $136/mo |
| Steele-Waseca Cooperative ElectricCooperative | 12,126 | 16.46¢/kWh | $161/mo |
| Heartland Power CoopCooperative | 38 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Freeborn County
6 public stations, DC fast first
- Albert Lea, MN - Happy Trails Lane - Tesla Supercharger
820 Happy Trails Lane, Albert Lea, MN 56007
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Casey's Albert Lea (Albert Lea, MN)
2222 E Main Street, Albert Lea, MN 56007
4 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Trail's Travel Center
820 Happy Trails Lane, Albert Lea, MN 56007
2 DC fast · 2 Level 2 · Zef Network · CHAdeMO, J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Wuerflein Chevrolet Buick GMC
2527 BRIDGE AVE, ALBERT LEA, MN 56007
1 DC fast · 1 Level 2 · EV Connect · J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Riverland Community College
2200 Riverland Dr, Albert Lea, MN 56007
1 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 2 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
| Propane (autogas) | 2 |
Power plants in Freeborn County
428 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Freeborn Wind Farm | Wind | 218 MW |
| Bent Tree Wind Farm Phase 1 | Wind | 201 MW |
| Bancroft (MN) | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| REG Juhl Glenville Wind, LLC | Wind | 2.5 MW |
| Goose Lake MN DPC-GM | Solar | 1.5 MW |
| Uss All In Solar LLC CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Uss Solar Way LLC CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Freeborn County?
- Northern States Power Co - Minnesota, Freeborn Mower Electric Cooperative, Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric and 1 more report serving Freeborn County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Freeborn County?
- There are 6 public EV charging stations in Freeborn County with 20 ports, 4 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Freeborn County?
- Yes. Freeborn County has 7 operating power plants with 428 MW of capacity. The largest is Freeborn Wind Farm (218 MW, wind).