Checked
Lake County, MN Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Lake County, Minnesota.
- Minnesota home electricity
- 17.45¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Minnesota regular gas
- $4.18/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- EV charging stations
- 7
- 25 ports
- Electric utilities
- 5
- Serving Lake County
Electric utilities serving Lake County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Minnesota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| ALLETE, Inc.Investor Owned | 153,192 | 15.86¢/kWh | $107/mo |
| Lake Country PowerCooperative | 51,603 | 18.34¢/kWh | $160/mo |
| Cooperative Light & PowerCooperative | 6,557 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Arrowhead Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 4,667 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Two Harbors- (MN)Municipal | 2,079 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Lake County
7 public stations, DC fast first
- Two Harbors, MN - Tesla Supercharger
820 11th St, Two Harbors, MN 55616
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Silver Bay Multi-Modal Trailhead Center
109 Outer Drive, Silver Bay, MN 55614
2 DC fast · 4 Level 2 · Zef Network · J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Temporarily unavailable
- Grand Superior Lodge - Tesla Destination
2826 Hwy 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616
2 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · Tesla (NACS)
- Superior Shores Burlington Bay
1412 Burlington Rd, Two Harbors, MN 55616
2 Level 2 · Turn On Green · J1772 (Level 2)
- Superior Shores Two Harbors
1521 Superior Shores Dr., Two Harbors, MN 55616
2 Level 2 · Turn On Green · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 1 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
Power plants in Lake County
136 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Silver Bay Power | Coal | 132 MW |
| Winton | Hydroelectric | 4.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Lake County?
- ALLETE, Inc., Lake Country Power, Cooperative Light & Power and 2 more report serving Lake County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Lake County?
- There are 7 public EV charging stations in Lake County with 25 ports, 3 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Lake County?
- Yes. Lake County has 2 operating power plants with 136 MW of capacity. The largest is Silver Bay Power (132 MW, coal).