Checked
McLeod County, MN Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in McLeod County, Minnesota.
- Minnesota home electricity
- 17.45¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Minnesota regular gas
- $4.18/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- EV charging stations
- 7
- 14 ports
- Electric utilities
- 7
- Serving McLeod County
Electric utilities serving McLeod County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Minnesota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned | 1,389,331 | 17.07¢/kWh | $105/mo |
| Wright-Hennepin Coop Elec AssnCooperative | 57,130 | 15.00¢/kWh | $140/mo |
| Meeker Coop Light & Power AssnCooperative | 9,345 | 14.03¢/kWh | $198/mo |
| Hutchinson Utilities CommMunicipal | 7,751 | 11.02¢/kWh | $78/mo |
| McLeod Cooperative Power AssnCooperative | 7,089 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Glencoe Light & Power CommMunicipal | 2,966 | 9.25¢/kWh | $65/mo |
| City of Brownton - (MN)Municipal | 425 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in McLeod County
7 public stations, DC fast first
- Burger King
2200 10th Street East, Glencoe, MN 55336
2 DC fast · 2 Level 2 · Zef Network · CHAdeMO, J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Crow River Winery - Huchinson, MN
14848 MN-7, Huchinson, MN 55350
2 DC fast · EV Range · CCS (J1772 Combo)
Temporarily unavailable - Hutch Utilities DC Fast 1
206 Main St S, Hutchinson, MN 55350
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Hutch Utilities DC Fast 2
900 Harrington St SW, Hutchinson, MN 55350
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- McLeod Cooperative Power Assn.
3515 11th Street East, Glencoe, MN 55336
2 Level 2 · Zef Network · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Biodiesel (B20 and above) | 7 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 6 |
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in McLeod County
189 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Hutchinson Plant #2 | Natural gas | 90.5 MW |
| Glencoe | Petroleum | 39.5 MW |
| Hutchinson Plant #1 | Natural gas | 28.4 MW |
| Andromeda Community Solar | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Helen Solar CSG | Solar | 4.0 MW |
| Spruce Ridge Gas Recovery | Biomass | 3.2 MW |
| Montgomery Winsted CSG | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Nautilus Winsted Solar (CSG) | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Barone CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Novel Martin Solar One LLC (McLeod) CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| FastSun 7 CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| McLeod Community Solar One LLC CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Uss Water Fowl Solar LLC CSG | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Honeysuckle Solar, LLC | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Plato CSG1, LLC | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Stewart CSG1, LLC | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Helen CSG 1 LLC | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Uss Verbena Solar LLC | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| South Garden | Solar | 1.0 MW |
| Crane Garden | Solar | 0.9 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves McLeod County?
- Northern States Power Co - Minnesota, Wright-Hennepin Coop Elec Assn, Meeker Coop Light & Power Assn and 4 more report serving McLeod County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in McLeod County?
- There are 7 public EV charging stations in McLeod County with 14 ports, 6 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in McLeod County?
- Yes. McLeod County has 20 operating power plants with 189 MW of capacity. The largest is Hutchinson Plant #2 (90.5 MW, natural gas).