Checked
Burke County, NC Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Burke County, North Carolina.
- North Carolina home electricity
- 15.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.86/gal
- Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
- EV charging stations
- 7
- 12 ports
- Electric utilities
- 5
- Serving Burke County
Electric utilities serving Burke County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned | 2,274,896 | 13.41¢/kWh | $134/mo |
| Rutherford Elec Member CorpCooperative | 77,777 | 13.02¢/kWh | $149/mo |
| Mountain Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 20,165 | 13.17¢/kWh | $129/mo |
| City of Morganton - (NC)Municipal | 8,911 | 11.59¢/kWh | $104/mo |
| Town of Drexel - (NC)Municipal | 1,256 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Burke County
7 public stations, DC fast first
- Morganton Plaza
104 East Fleming Drive, Morganton, NC 28655
4 DC fast · Blink · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Morganton, NC Fast Charger #1
201 N College St, Morganton, NC 28655
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Morganton, NC Fast Charger #2
201 N College St, Morganton, NC 28655
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Morganton, NC Fast Charger #4
2128 S Sterling St, Morganton, NC 28655
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Morganton, NC Catawba Meadows
220 Catawba Meadows Dr, Morganton, NC 28655
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- Morganton, NC Soccer Field
128 Greenlee Ford Rd, Morganton, NC 28655
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 2 |
Power plants in Burke County
48.5 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Bridgewater | Hydroelectric | 27.7 MW |
| Dragstrip Farm | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Cline Solar Farm, LLC | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Drexel Operations Center | Petroleum | 2.2 MW |
| Innovative Solar 26, LLC | Solar | 1.9 MW |
| Water Filter Plant #2 | Petroleum | 1.8 MW |
| Morganton, Parker Road | Petroleum | 1.8 MW |
| Morganton Station 5 | Petroleum | 1.8 MW |
| Catawba River Pollution Control | Petroleum | 1.3 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Burke County?
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Rutherford Elec Member Corp, Mountain Electric Coop, Inc and 2 more report serving Burke County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Burke County?
- There are 7 public EV charging stations in Burke County with 12 ports, 5 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Burke County?
- Yes. Burke County has 9 operating power plants with 48.5 MW of capacity. The largest is Bridgewater (27.7 MW, hydroelectric).