Checked
Catawba County, NC Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Catawba County, North Carolina.
- North Carolina home electricity
- 15.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.86/gal
- Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
- EV charging stations
- 12
- 45 ports
- Electric utilities
- 5
- Serving Catawba County
Electric utilities serving Catawba County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned | 2,274,896 | 13.41¢/kWh | $134/mo |
| EnergyUnited Elec Member CorpCooperative | 145,028 | 11.61¢/kWh | $141/mo |
| Rutherford Elec Member CorpCooperative | 77,777 | 13.02¢/kWh | $149/mo |
| City of Newton - (NC)Municipal | 4,946 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Town of Maiden - (NC)Municipal | 1,346 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Catawba County
12 public stations, DC fast first
- Hickory, NC - NC-127 - Tesla Supercharger
2631 NC-127, Hickory, NC 28602
12 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Hickory, NC - Tesla Supercharger
2191 13th Avenue Drive SE, Hickory, NC 28602
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Hickory, NC Rechargery Relay @ Circle K - Hwy. 70 SE
2350 Hwy. 70 SE, Hickory, NC 28602
4 DC fast · IONNA · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- City of Hickory-DCFC
306 Main Avenue Northwest, Hickory, NC 28601
2 DC fast · EV Connect · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Paramount Hyund Sales FST Chg1
1234 S Center St, Hickory, NC 28602
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Temporarily unavailable
- Cloninger Ford of Hickory - 1241 US Hwy 70 SE
1241 US Hwy 70 SE, Hickory, NC 28602
2 Level 2 · EV Connect · J1772 (Level 2)
- Mjhtoyota Level 2 Charger
435 US Highway 70 Southeast, Hickory, NC 28602
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- Town of Maiden Recreation Department
207 E Klutz St, Maiden, NC 28650
2 Level 2 · FLO · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Compressed natural gas (CNG) | 1 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
| Propane (autogas) | 3 |
Power plants in Catawba County
2.3 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Marshall (NC) | Natural gas | 2.1 GW |
| Maiden Creek Solar Power Plant | Solar | 69.3 MW |
| Oxford Dam | Hydroelectric | 36.0 MW |
| Apple Data Center PV | Solar | 21.0 MW |
| Apple Data Center - PV2 | Solar | 20.0 MW |
| Apple Data Center PV3 | Solar | 17.5 MW |
| Arndt Farm | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Two Lines Farm | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Flash Solar | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Angel Solar | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Owen Solar | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Apple One | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Sonne Two | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Sigmon Catawba Farm | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Old Catawba PV 1 | Solar | 3.5 MW |
| Maiden Community Center | Petroleum | 1.8 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Catawba County?
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, EnergyUnited Elec Member Corp, Rutherford Elec Member Corp and 2 more report serving Catawba County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Catawba County?
- There are 12 public EV charging stations in Catawba County with 45 ports, 6 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Catawba County?
- Yes. Catawba County has 16 operating power plants with 2.3 GW of capacity. The largest is Marshall (NC) (2.1 GW, natural gas).