Skip to content

Checked

Chowan County, NC Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Chowan County, North Carolina.

North Carolina home electricity
15.16¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$3.86/gal
Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
EV charging stations
1
2 ports
Electric utilities
4
Serving Chowan County

Electric utilities serving Chowan County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned128,52212.74¢/kWh$164/mo
Roanoke Electric Member CorpCooperative14,06520.70¢/kWh$243/mo
Albemarle Electric Member CorpCooperative13,95115.15¢/kWh$198/mo
Town of Edenton - (NC)Municipal4,317Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Chowan County

1 public stations, DC fast first

All 1

Power plants in Chowan County

211 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Timbermill Wind, LLCWind189 MW
Edenton SolarSolar5.0 MW
Chowan Jehu SolarSolar5.0 MW
Gliden (Op Zone)Solar5.0 MW
Ryland Road SolarSolar5.0 MW
Edenton GeneratorsPetroleum2.4 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Chowan County?
Virginia Electric & Power Co, Roanoke Electric Member Corp, Albemarle Electric Member Corp and 1 more report serving Chowan County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Chowan County?
There are 1 public EV charging stations in Chowan County with 2 ports.
Are there power plants in Chowan County?
Yes. Chowan County has 6 operating power plants with 211 MW of capacity. The largest is Timbermill Wind, LLC (189 MW, wind).