Checked
Cleveland County, NC Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Cleveland County, North Carolina.
- North Carolina home electricity
- 15.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.86/gal
- Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
- EV charging stations
- 10
- 18 ports
- Electric utilities
- 5
- Serving Cleveland County
Electric utilities serving Cleveland County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned | 2,274,896 | 13.41¢/kWh | $134/mo |
| Rutherford Elec Member CorpCooperative | 77,777 | 13.02¢/kWh | $149/mo |
| City of Shelby - (NC)Municipal | 9,219 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Kings Mountain - (NC)Municipal | 5,487 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Broad River Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 498 | 16.65¢/kWh | $189/mo |
EV charging in Cleveland County
10 public stations, DC fast first
- City of Shelby Station 2
311 S Lafayette St, Shelby, NC 28150
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- Comfort Inn
106 Holiday Inn Dr, Kings Mountain, NC 28086
2 Level 2 · Universal EV Chargers · J1772 (Level 2)
- PW Station KM PW#1
1013 North Piedmont Avenue, Kings Mountain, NC 28086
1 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- PW Station KM PW#2
1013 North Piedmont Avenue, Kings Mountain, NC 28086
1 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
Power plants in Cleveland County
3.0 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| James E. Rogers Energy Complex | Natural gas | 1.5 GW |
| Cleveland Cnty Generating Facility | Natural gas | 736 MW |
| Kings Mountain Energy Center | Natural gas | 544 MW |
| Broad River Solar, LLC | Solar | 50.0 MW |
| Apex NC Solar | Solar | 28.9 MW |
| Ayrshire | Solar | 19.4 MW |
| Waco Farm | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Hutchinson Farm | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Sid Solar I, LLC | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Roper Farm, LLC | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Sophie Solar | Solar | 4.5 MW |
| Shelby, NC | Petroleum | 4.2 MW |
| Belwood Farm | Solar | 4.0 MW |
| Dixon Dairy Road Solar | Solar | 4.0 MW |
| Beetle Solar | Solar | 4.0 MW |
| Warbler Holdings | Solar | 4.0 MW |
| Battleground | Solar | 3.5 MW |
| Audrey Solar | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Neisler Street Solar | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Shelby Randolph Road Solar 1, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Lafayette Solar I, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| York Road Solar I, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| County Home Solar Center, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| 231 Dixon 74 Solar I, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Lux Solar, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| 232 Long Branch 29 Solar I, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| 233 Randolph 74 Solar I, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Innovative Solar 23 | Solar | 1.9 MW |
| Shelby, Toms Street | Petroleum | 1.8 MW |
| Shelby Solar Energy Generation Facility | Solar | 0.9 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Cleveland County?
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Rutherford Elec Member Corp, City of Shelby - (NC) and 2 more report serving Cleveland County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Cleveland County?
- There are 10 public EV charging stations in Cleveland County with 18 ports.
- Are there power plants in Cleveland County?
- Yes. Cleveland County has 30 operating power plants with 3.0 GW of capacity. The largest is James E. Rogers Energy Complex (1.5 GW, natural gas).