Checked
Halifax County, NC Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Halifax County, North Carolina.
- North Carolina home electricity
- 15.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.86/gal
- Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
- EV charging stations
- 10
- 86 ports
- Electric utilities
- 8
- Serving Halifax County
Electric utilities serving Halifax County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned | 1,605,330 | 15.19¢/kWh | $159/mo |
| Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned | 128,522 | 12.74¢/kWh | $164/mo |
| Roanoke Electric Member CorpCooperative | 14,065 | 20.70¢/kWh | $243/mo |
| Halifax Electric Member CorpCooperative | 12,378 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Edgecombe-Martin County E M CCooperative | 11,942 | 16.51¢/kWh | $195/mo |
| Town of Scotland Neck - (NC)Municipal | 1,355 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Town of Enfield - (NC)Municipal | 1,220 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Town of HobgoodMunicipal | 267 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Halifax County
10 public stations, DC fast first
- Halifax, NC - Tesla Supercharger
10401 NC-903, Halifax, NC 27839
60 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Country Inn and Suites - Roanoke Rapids
101 Hampton Boulevard, Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
4 DC fast · Blink · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Halifax EMC Halifax EMC Dc1
23945 NC-561, Enfield, NC 27823
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Roanoke EMC DC Fast Oasis
10401 NC-903, Halifax, NC 27839
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Bird Park 1 Sylvan Heights1
500 Sylvan Heights Park Way, Scotland Neck, NC 27874
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- Halifaxcntycvb Hampton Inn 01
85 Hampton Blvd, Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- Heaton Construction Home Office
309 Long Cir, Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
2 Level 2 · Vialynk · J1772 (Level 2)
- Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke Rapids - Tesla Destination
111 Carolina Crossroads Pkwy, Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
2 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
Power plants in Halifax County
673 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Rosemary Power Station | Petroleum | 180 MW |
| American Beech Solar LLC | Solar | 140 MW |
| Roanoke Rapids | Hydroelectric | 100 MW |
| Chestnut Solar | Solar | 74.9 MW |
| KapStone Kraft Paper Corp | Biomass | 28.3 MW |
| Dogwood Solar, LLC | Solar | 20.0 MW |
| Halifax (NC) | Solar | 20.0 MW |
| Cork Oak Solar | Solar | 20.0 MW |
| North 301 Solar | Solar | 20.0 MW |
| American Legion PV 1 | Solar | 16.0 MW |
| Sunflower Solar | Solar | 16.0 MW |
| Grissom Solar, LLC | Battery storage | 15.0 MW |
| HXNAir Solar One | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Carl Friedrich Gauss Solar | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Shieldwall Solar | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| SunEnergy1-Scotland Neck, LLC | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Medoc | Battery storage | 2.5 MW |
| Northern Cardinal Solar | Solar | 2.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Halifax County?
- Duke Energy Progress - (NC), Virginia Electric & Power Co, Roanoke Electric Member Corp and 5 more report serving Halifax County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Halifax County?
- There are 10 public EV charging stations in Halifax County with 86 ports, 4 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Halifax County?
- Yes. Halifax County has 18 operating power plants with 673 MW of capacity. The largest is Rosemary Power Station (180 MW, petroleum).