Checked
Haywood County, NC Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Haywood County, North Carolina.
- North Carolina home electricity
- 15.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.86/gal
- Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
- EV charging stations
- 16
- 33 ports
- Electric utilities
- 3
- Serving Haywood County
Electric utilities serving Haywood County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned | 1,605,330 | 15.19¢/kWh | $159/mo |
| Haywood Electric Member CorpCooperative | 31,288 | 16.86¢/kWh | $139/mo |
| Town of Waynesville - (NC)Municipal | 3,568 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Haywood County
16 public stations, DC fast first
- Pilot Travel Center 393
3712 Crabtree Road, Waynesville, NC 28786
5 DC fast · EVgo · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- 88 Montgomery St Parking Lot
88 Montgomery St, Waynesville, NC 28786
2 DC fast · 2 Level 2 · EV Connect · CHAdeMO, J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Haywood Community College West Waynesville Annex
23 Hendrix Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
2 DC fast · EV Connect · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Haywood EMC Station1
5083 Jonathan Creek Rd, Waynesville, NC 28785
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Local Market #204
5083 Jonathan Creek Rd, Waynesville, NC 28785
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Haywood EMC Hemc Level 2 a
376 Grindstone Road, Waynesville, NC 28785
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- Maggie Valley - Town Hall
3987 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
2 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2)
- Maggie Valley Cabin Rentals
5 Tobacco Barn Rd., Maggie Valley, NC 28751
2 Level 2 · Rivian Waypoints · J1772 (Level 2)
- The Terrace Hotel at Lake Junaluska - Tesla Destination
689 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745
2 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in Haywood County
110 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Walters | Hydroelectric | 108 MW |
| Innovative Solar 10 | Solar | 1.5 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Haywood County?
- Duke Energy Progress - (NC), Haywood Electric Member Corp, Town of Waynesville - (NC) report serving Haywood County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Haywood County?
- There are 16 public EV charging stations in Haywood County with 33 ports, 5 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Haywood County?
- Yes. Haywood County has 2 operating power plants with 110 MW of capacity. The largest is Walters (108 MW, hydroelectric).