Checked
Jackson County, NC Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Jackson County, North Carolina.
- North Carolina home electricity
- 15.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.86/gal
- Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
- EV charging stations
- 10
- 43 ports
- Electric utilities
- 4
- Serving Jackson County
Electric utilities serving Jackson County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned | 2,274,896 | 13.41¢/kWh | $134/mo |
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned | 1,605,330 | 15.19¢/kWh | $159/mo |
| Haywood Electric Member CorpCooperative | 31,288 | 16.86¢/kWh | $139/mo |
| City of Highlands - (NC)Municipal | 2,974 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Jackson County
10 public stations, DC fast first
- Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort - Tesla Supercharger
777 Casino Dr, Cherokee, NC 28719
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Sylva, NC - Tesla Supercharger
200 E Main St, Sylva, NC 28779
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Whittier, NC
16 Cherokee Crossing Road, Whittier, NC 28789
6 DC fast · Rivian Adventure Network · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Town of Sylva - Bridge Park
76 Railroad Ave, Sylva, NC 28779
4 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2)
- Stay-N-Charge EV Charging Station - Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
3245 U.S. 64, Sapphire, NC 28774
2 Level 2 · Stay N Charge · J1772 (Level 2)
- The Ugly Dog Public House - Cashiers - Tesla Destination
25 Frank Allen Rd, Cashiers, NC 28717
2 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · Tesla (NACS)
- Western Carolina University
320 Memorial Dr, Cullowhee, NC 28723
2 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2)
- Western Carolina University - Lot 30 - Tesla Destination
320 Memorial Dr, Cullowhee, NC 28723
1 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · Tesla (NACS)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in Jackson County
50.8 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Thorpe | Hydroelectric | 21.6 MW |
| Tennessee Creek | Hydroelectric | 10.8 MW |
| Bear Creek Dam | Hydroelectric | 9.0 MW |
| Cedar Cliff | Hydroelectric | 6.4 MW |
| Tuckasegee | Hydroelectric | 3.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Jackson County?
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Duke Energy Progress - (NC), Haywood Electric Member Corp and 1 more report serving Jackson County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Jackson County?
- There are 10 public EV charging stations in Jackson County with 43 ports, 3 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Jackson County?
- Yes. Jackson County has 5 operating power plants with 50.8 MW of capacity. The largest is Thorpe (21.6 MW, hydroelectric).