Skip to content

Checked

Macon County, NC Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Macon County, North Carolina.

North Carolina home electricity
15.16¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$3.86/gal
Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
EV charging stations
15
55 ports
Electric utilities
3
Serving Macon County

Electric utilities serving Macon County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned2,274,89613.41¢/kWh$134/mo
Haywood Electric Member CorpCooperative31,28816.86¢/kWh$139/mo
City of Highlands - (NC)Municipal2,974Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Macon County

15 public stations, DC fast first

All 15

Power plants in Macon County

45.6 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
NantahalaHydroelectric43.2 MW
Queens CreekHydroelectric1.4 MW
Franklin (NC)Hydroelectric1.0 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Macon County?
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Haywood Electric Member Corp, City of Highlands - (NC) report serving Macon County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Macon County?
There are 15 public EV charging stations in Macon County with 55 ports, 3 of them with DC fast charging.
Are there power plants in Macon County?
Yes. Macon County has 3 operating power plants with 45.6 MW of capacity. The largest is Nantahala (43.2 MW, hydroelectric).