Checked
Rutherford County, NC Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Rutherford County, North Carolina.
- North Carolina home electricity
- 15.16¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.86/gal
- Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
- EV charging stations
- 3
- 8 ports
- Electric utilities
- 6
- Serving Rutherford County
Electric utilities serving Rutherford County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned | 2,274,896 | 13.41¢/kWh | $134/mo |
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned | 1,605,330 | 15.19¢/kWh | $159/mo |
| Rutherford Elec Member CorpCooperative | 77,777 | 13.02¢/kWh | $149/mo |
| Town of Forest CityMunicipal | 4,288 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Broad River Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 498 | 16.65¢/kWh | $189/mo |
| Town of Bostic - (NC)Municipal | 209 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Rutherford County
3 public stations, DC fast first
- Hope House Coffee Co - Tesla Destination
1066 S Broadway St, Forest City, NC 28043
4 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
- Temporarily unavailable
Power plants in Rutherford County
127 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Rutherford Farm | Solar | 74.8 MW |
| Ruff Solar LLC | Solar | 22.0 MW |
| Charlotte Solar | Solar | 5.0 MW |
| Lincoln Solar, LLC (NC) | Solar | 4.9 MW |
| Lake Lure | Hydroelectric | 3.6 MW |
| Clear Solar I, LLC | Solar | 3.6 MW |
| Amethyst Solar | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Gamble Solar | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Innovative Solar 15, LLC | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Old Caroleen Solar Farm | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Innovative Solar 18, LLC | Solar | 1.9 MW |
| Bostic Delivery No 2 | Petroleum | 1.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Rutherford County?
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Duke Energy Progress - (NC), Rutherford Elec Member Corp and 3 more report serving Rutherford County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Rutherford County?
- There are 3 public EV charging stations in Rutherford County with 8 ports.
- Are there power plants in Rutherford County?
- Yes. Rutherford County has 12 operating power plants with 127 MW of capacity. The largest is Rutherford Farm (74.8 MW, solar).