Skip to content

Checked

Wake County, NC Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Wake County, North Carolina.

North Carolina home electricity
15.16¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$3.86/gal
Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
EV charging stations
432
1,158 ports
Electric utilities
5
Serving Wake County

Electric utilities serving Wake County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Carolina service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned2,274,89613.41¢/kWh$134/mo
Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned1,605,33015.19¢/kWh$159/mo
Wake Electric Membership CorpCooperative58,98714.29¢/kWh$160/mo
Town of Apex- (NC)Municipal31,90716.72¢/kWh$127/mo
Town of Wake Forest - (NC)Municipal8,774Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Wake County

432 public stations, DC fast first

All 432

Alternative fuel stations

Power plants in Wake County

1.1 GW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Harris (NC)Nuclear951 MW
Knightdale BatteryBattery storage100 MW
NCSU Cates Cogeneration PlantNatural gas11.2 MW
Ncsu Ccup Cogeneration PlantNatural gas6.6 MW
Fuquay FarmSolar5.0 MW
Sunfish FarmSolar5.0 MW
Creech Solar 2, LLCSolar5.0 MW
Wakefield SolarSolar5.0 MW
Walkers Crossroads BESSBattery storage5.0 MW
CBC Solar Energy Gen Fac Phase 2Solar2.5 MW
SAS Solar FarmSolar2.0 MW
South Cary WRF Solar ArraySolar1.5 MW
Neuse River Solar FarmSolar1.1 MW
Wake RJ3 Solar Energy StorageBattery storage1.1 MW
Century Drive Solar FarmSolar1.0 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Wake County?
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Duke Energy Progress - (NC), Wake Electric Membership Corp and 2 more report serving Wake County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Wake County?
There are 432 public EV charging stations in Wake County with 1,158 ports, 29 of them with DC fast charging.
Are there power plants in Wake County?
Yes. Wake County has 15 operating power plants with 1.1 GW of capacity. The largest is Harris (NC) (951 MW, nuclear).