Checked
McLean County, ND Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in McLean County, North Dakota.
- North Dakota home electricity
- 13.41¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 2
- 2 ports
- Electric utilities
- 7
- Serving McLean County
Electric utilities serving McLean County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned | 59,067 | 11.07¢/kWh | $120/mo |
| Capital Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 22,758 | 13.53¢/kWh | $140/mo |
| Mountrail-Williams Elec CoopCooperative | 19,199 | 7.25¢/kWh | $108/mo |
| Verendrye Electric Coop IncCooperative | 16,815 | 11.19¢/kWh | $150/mo |
| McLean Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 4,303 | 14.64¢/kWh | $186/mo |
| City of Riverdale - (ND)Municipal | 346 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 24 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in McLean County
2 public stations, DC fast first
- Hwy 83 Leisure & Tools
1619 US-83, Garrison, ND 58540
1 DC fast · Non-networked · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
Temporarily unavailable - Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center
2576 8th St SW, Washburn, ND 58577
1 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in McLean County
1.8 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Coal Creek | Coal | 1.2 GW |
| Garrison | Hydroelectric | 583 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves McLean County?
- Otter Tail Power Co, Capital Electric Coop, Inc, Mountrail-Williams Elec Coop and 4 more report serving McLean County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in McLean County?
- There are 2 public EV charging stations in McLean County with 2 ports, 1 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in McLean County?
- Yes. McLean County has 2 operating power plants with 1.8 GW of capacity. The largest is Coal Creek (1.2 GW, coal).