Skip to content

Checked

Nelson County, ND Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Nelson County, North Dakota.

North Dakota home electricity
13.41¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$4.15/gal
Midwest (PADD 2)
Electric utilities
4
Serving Nelson County

Electric utilities serving Nelson County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Dakota service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned59,06711.07¢/kWh$120/mo
Nodak Electric Coop IncCooperative21,26012.69¢/kWh$195/mo
City of Lakota - (ND)Municipal540Not reportedNot reported
WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal24Not reportedNot reported

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Nelson County?
Otter Tail Power Co, Nodak Electric Coop Inc, City of Lakota - (ND) and 1 more report serving Nelson County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.