Checked
Steele County, ND Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Steele County, North Dakota.
- North Dakota home electricity
- 13.41¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- Electric utilities
- 5
- Serving Steele County
Electric utilities serving Steele County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned | 59,067 | 11.07¢/kWh | $120/mo |
| Nodak Electric Coop IncCooperative | 21,260 | 12.69¢/kWh | $195/mo |
| City of Hope - (ND)Municipal | 205 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Sharon- (ND)Municipal | 83 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 24 | Not reported | Not reported |
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
Power plants in Steele County
170 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Ashtabula Wind II LLC | Wind | 120 MW |
| Luverne Wind Energy Center | Wind | 49.5 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Steele County?
- Otter Tail Power Co, Nodak Electric Coop Inc, City of Hope - (ND) and 2 more report serving Steele County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- Are there power plants in Steele County?
- Yes. Steele County has 2 operating power plants with 170 MW of capacity. The largest is Ashtabula Wind II LLC (120 MW, wind).