Checked
Ward County, ND Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Ward County, North Dakota.
- North Dakota home electricity
- 13.41¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 6
- 17 ports
- Electric utilities
- 8
- Serving Ward County
Electric utilities serving Ward County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole North Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned | 96,940 | 13.54¢/kWh | $104/mo |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned | 94,744 | 11.06¢/kWh | $92/mo |
| Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned | 59,067 | 11.07¢/kWh | $120/mo |
| Mountrail-Williams Elec CoopCooperative | 19,199 | 7.25¢/kWh | $108/mo |
| Verendrye Electric Coop IncCooperative | 16,815 | 11.19¢/kWh | $150/mo |
| McLean Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 4,303 | 14.64¢/kWh | $186/mo |
| Burke-Divide Electric Coop IncCooperative | 3,508 | 8.61¢/kWh | $168/mo |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 24 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Ward County
6 public stations, DC fast first
- Minot, ND - Tesla Supercharger
1620 S Broadway, Minot, ND 58701
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Pinnacle Express
2251 36th Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701
2 DC fast · Non-networked · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Ryan Buick GMC
1111 20th Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701
1 DC fast · 1 Level 2 · Non-networked · J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in Ward County
120 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Prairie Winds ND1 | Wind | 116 MW |
| Minot Wind Project | Wind | 4.5 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Ward County?
- Northern States Power Co - Minnesota, Montana-Dakota Utilities Co, Otter Tail Power Co and 5 more report serving Ward County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Ward County?
- There are 6 public EV charging stations in Ward County with 17 ports, 5 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Ward County?
- Yes. Ward County has 2 operating power plants with 120 MW of capacity. The largest is Prairie Winds ND1 (116 MW, wind).