Checked
Sierra County, NM Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Sierra County, New Mexico.
- New Mexico home electricity
- 16.09¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $3.78/gal
- Gulf Coast (PADD 3)
- EV charging stations
- 7
- 21 ports
- Electric utilities
- 4
- Serving Sierra County
Electric utilities serving Sierra County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole New Mexico service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| El Paso Electric CoInvestor Owned | 110,178 | 10.34¢/kWh | $74/mo |
| Socorro Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 13,194 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sierra Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 4,469 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Truth or Consequences - (NM)Municipal | 4,066 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Sierra County
7 public stations, DC fast first
- Truth or Consequences, NM - Tesla Supercharger
2201 F.G. Amin Street, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Comfort Inn & Suites - T or C
2205 N Date St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
4 DC fast · Francis Energy · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Fast Stop Elephant Butte
106 Rock Canyon Rd, Elephant Butte, NM 87935
4 DC fast · Francis Energy · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
Temporarily unavailable - Loves 1045 - NM # 1045 Cp6k 1
219 Dr Hubble Dr, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
1 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
- Loves 1045 - NM # 1045 Cp6k 2
219 Dr Hubble Dr, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
1 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
- Loves 1045 - NM # 1045 Cp6k 3
219 Dr Hubble Dr, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
1 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Propane (autogas) | 3 |
Power plants in Sierra County
30.8 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Elephant Butte | Hydroelectric | 27.9 MW |
| City of Truth or Consequences PV | Solar | 1.9 MW |
| Wal-Mart Truth or Consequences PV | Solar | 1.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Sierra County?
- El Paso Electric Co, Socorro Electric Coop, Inc, Sierra Electric Coop, Inc and 1 more report serving Sierra County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Sierra County?
- There are 7 public EV charging stations in Sierra County with 21 ports, 3 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Sierra County?
- Yes. Sierra County has 3 operating power plants with 30.8 MW of capacity. The largest is Elephant Butte (27.9 MW, hydroelectric).