Checked
Kay County, OK Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Kay County, Oklahoma.
- Oklahoma home electricity
- 14.35¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 6
- 24 ports
- Electric utilities
- 9
- Serving Kay County
Electric utilities serving Kay County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Oklahoma service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oklahoma Gas & Electric CoInvestor Owned | 839,221 | 12.49¢/kWh | $131/mo |
| Public Service Co of OklahomaInvestor Owned | 588,941 | 14.23¢/kWh | $145/mo |
| Indian Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 20,477 | 13.41¢/kWh | $175/mo |
| City of Ponca City - (OK)Municipal | 15,990 | 12.52¢/kWh | $111/mo |
| Kay Electric CoopCooperative | 5,844 | 14.82¢/kWh | $150/mo |
| City of Blackwell - (OK)Municipal | 3,168 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Tonkawa - (OK)Municipal | 1,578 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Newkirk - (OK)Municipal | 1,364 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Town of Braman - (OK)Municipal | 140 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Kay County
6 public stations, DC fast first
- Blackwell, OK Rechargery Relay @ Casey's - W Doolin Ave
4415 W Doolin Ave, Blackwell, OK 74631
6 DC fast · IONNA · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Casey's Blackwell (Blackwell, OK)
4415 W Doolin Ave, Blackwell, OK 74631
4 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Pilot Travel Center 1004
16600 West South Ave., Tonkawa, OK 74653
4 DC fast · EVgo · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Ponca City Library
515 E Grand Ave, Ponca City, OK 74601
2 DC fast · 2 Level 2 · Francis Energy · CHAdeMO, J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
Temporarily unavailable
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Compressed natural gas (CNG) | 1 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
Power plants in Kay County
1.4 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Frontier Windpower II | Wind | 352 MW |
| Kay Wind, LLC | Wind | 299 MW |
| Frontier Windpower | Wind | 200 MW |
| Rock Falls Wind Farm LLC | Wind | 155 MW |
| Ponca City | Natural gas | 134 MW |
| Charles D. Lamb Energy Center | Natural gas | 122 MW |
| NextEra-Blackwell Wind, LLC | Wind | 59.8 MW |
| Kaw Hydro | Hydroelectric | 37.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Kay County?
- Oklahoma Gas & Electric Co, Public Service Co of Oklahoma, Indian Electric Coop, Inc and 6 more report serving Kay County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Kay County?
- There are 6 public EV charging stations in Kay County with 24 ports, 6 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Kay County?
- Yes. Kay County has 8 operating power plants with 1.4 GW of capacity. The largest is Frontier Windpower II (352 MW, wind).