Skip to content

Checked

Aurora County, SD Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Aurora County, South Dakota.

South Dakota home electricity
15.37¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$4.15/gal
Midwest (PADD 2)
Electric utilities
5
Serving Aurora County

Electric utilities serving Aurora County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned65,39613.35¢/kWh$125/mo
Central Electric Coop, Inc - (SD)Cooperative7,39714.67¢/kWh$225/mo
Douglas Electric Coop, IncCooperative823Not reportedNot reported
City of Plankinton - (SD)Municipal473Not reportedNot reported
WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal25Not reportedNot reported

Power plants in Aurora County

182 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Prairie Winds SD1Wind162 MW
Aurora County WindWind20.0 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Aurora County?
NorthWestern Energy - (SD), Central Electric Coop, Inc - (SD), Douglas Electric Coop, Inc and 2 more report serving Aurora County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
Are there power plants in Aurora County?
Yes. Aurora County has 2 operating power plants with 182 MW of capacity. The largest is Prairie Winds SD1 (162 MW, wind).