Skip to content

Checked

Brookings County, SD Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Brookings County, South Dakota.

South Dakota home electricity
15.37¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$4.15/gal
Midwest (PADD 2)
EV charging stations
3
8 ports
Electric utilities
10
Serving Brookings County

Electric utilities serving Brookings County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Sioux Valley SW Elec CoopCooperative26,16413.94¢/kWh$176/mo
City of Brookings - (SD)Municipal12,56810.69¢/kWh$94/mo
Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned12,02711.42¢/kWh$123/mo
H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative3,873Not reportedNot reported
City of Volga - (SD)Municipal1,29012.79¢/kWh$119/mo
Kingsbury Electric Coop, IncCooperative910Not reportedNot reported
City of Arlington - (SD)Municipal631Not reportedNot reported
City of Aurora - (SD)Municipal566Not reportedNot reported
City of White - (SD)Municipal309Not reportedNot reported
WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal25Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Brookings County

3 public stations, DC fast first

All 3

Alternative fuel stations

FuelStations
Ethanol (E85)1

Power plants in Brookings County

682 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Deer Creek StationNatural gas324 MW
Buffalo Ridge II LLCWind210 MW
Coyote RidgeWind97.4 MW
Buffalo Ridge I LLCWind50.4 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Brookings County?
Sioux Valley SW Elec Coop, City of Brookings - (SD), Otter Tail Power Co and 7 more report serving Brookings County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Brookings County?
There are 3 public EV charging stations in Brookings County with 8 ports, 1 of them with DC fast charging.
Are there power plants in Brookings County?
Yes. Brookings County has 4 operating power plants with 682 MW of capacity. The largest is Deer Creek Station (324 MW, natural gas).