Checked
Clark County, SD Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Clark County, South Dakota.
- South Dakota home electricity
- 15.37¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- Electric utilities
- 6
- Serving Clark County
Electric utilities serving Clark County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned | 65,396 | 13.35¢/kWh | $125/mo |
| Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 6,938 | 11.43¢/kWh | $239/mo |
| H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative | 3,873 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Codington-Clark Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 3,494 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Kingsbury Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 910 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 25 | Not reported | Not reported |
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
Power plants in Clark County
222 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Crocker Wind Farm | Wind | 200 MW |
| Oak Tree Energy | Wind | 19.5 MW |
| Clark (SD) | Petroleum | 2.7 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Clark County?
- NorthWestern Energy - (SD), Northern Electric Coop, Inc, H-D Electric Coop Inc and 3 more report serving Clark County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- Are there power plants in Clark County?
- Yes. Clark County has 3 operating power plants with 222 MW of capacity. The largest is Crocker Wind Farm (200 MW, wind).