Checked
Codington County, SD Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Codington County, South Dakota.
- South Dakota home electricity
- 15.37¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 5
- 27 ports
- Electric utilities
- 7
- Serving Codington County
Electric utilities serving Codington County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned | 65,396 | 13.35¢/kWh | $125/mo |
| Watertown Municipal UtilitiesMunicipal | 14,497 | 9.29¢/kWh | $82/mo |
| Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned | 12,027 | 11.42¢/kWh | $123/mo |
| H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative | 3,873 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Whetstone Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative | 3,698 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Codington-Clark Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 3,494 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 25 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Codington County
5 public stations, DC fast first
- 1600 9th Avenue Southeast
1600 9th Avenue Southeast, Watertown, SD 57201
9 DC fast · 1 Level 2 · EV Connect · J1772 (Level 2), CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Watertown, SD - Tesla Supercharger
1320 9th Avenue Southeast, Watertown, SD 57201
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Target T0859 (Watertown, SD)
2000 9th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201
6 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- GM Charger GM DC 1
1112 9th Avenue Southwest, Watertown, SD 57201
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 8 |
| Propane (autogas) | 2 |
Power plants in Codington County
268 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Crowned Ridge Wind II Energy Center | Wind | 201 MW |
| Watertown Power Plant | Petroleum | 67.5 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Codington County?
- NorthWestern Energy - (SD), Watertown Municipal Utilities, Otter Tail Power Co and 4 more report serving Codington County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Codington County?
- There are 5 public EV charging stations in Codington County with 27 ports, 4 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Codington County?
- Yes. Codington County has 2 operating power plants with 268 MW of capacity. The largest is Crowned Ridge Wind II Energy Center (201 MW, wind).