Checked
Day County, SD Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Day County, South Dakota.
- South Dakota home electricity
- 15.37¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- Electric utilities
- 7
- Serving Day County
Electric utilities serving Day County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned | 65,396 | 13.35¢/kWh | $125/mo |
| Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned | 12,027 | 11.42¢/kWh | $123/mo |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned | 8,444 | 12.99¢/kWh | $111/mo |
| Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 6,938 | 11.43¢/kWh | $239/mo |
| Codington-Clark Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 3,494 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lake Region Electric Assn, Inc - (SD)Cooperative | 3,464 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 25 | Not reported | Not reported |
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 2 |
Power plants in Day County
99.0 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Day County Wind LLC | Wind | 99.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Day County?
- NorthWestern Energy - (SD), Otter Tail Power Co, Montana-Dakota Utilities Co and 4 more report serving Day County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- Are there power plants in Day County?
- Yes. Day County has 1 operating power plant with 99.0 MW of capacity. The largest is Day County Wind LLC (99.0 MW, wind).