Skip to content

Checked

Grant County, SD Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Grant County, South Dakota.

South Dakota home electricity
15.37¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$4.15/gal
Midwest (PADD 2)
Electric utilities
7
Serving Grant County

Electric utilities serving Grant County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned12,02711.42¢/kWh$123/mo
Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned8,44412.99¢/kWh$111/mo
H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative3,873Not reportedNot reported
Whetstone Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative3,698Not reportedNot reported
Codington-Clark Elec Coop, IncCooperative3,494Not reportedNot reported
City of Big Stone City - (SD)Municipal401Not reportedNot reported
WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal25Not reportedNot reported

Alternative fuel stations

Power plants in Grant County

1.1 GW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Big StoneCoal451 MW
Dakota Range WindWind304 MW
Crowned Ridge Wind Energy CenterWind200 MW
Dakota Range III Wind ProjectWind154 MW
Valley Queen CheesePetroleum4.5 MW
State Auto InsurancePetroleum1.7 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Grant County?
Otter Tail Power Co, Montana-Dakota Utilities Co, H-D Electric Coop Inc and 4 more report serving Grant County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
Are there power plants in Grant County?
Yes. Grant County has 6 operating power plants with 1.1 GW of capacity. The largest is Big Stone (451 MW, coal).