Checked
Hand County, SD Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Hand County, South Dakota.
- South Dakota home electricity
- 15.37¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- Electric utilities
- 5
- Serving Hand County
Electric utilities serving Hand County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned | 65,396 | 13.35¢/kWh | $125/mo |
| Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 6,938 | 11.43¢/kWh | $239/mo |
| Dakota Energy Coop IncCooperative | 3,645 | 16.28¢/kWh | $276/mo |
| City of Miller - (SD)Municipal | 982 | Not reported | Not reported |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 25 | Not reported | Not reported |
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 1 |
Power plants in Hand County
226 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC | Wind | 200 MW |
| Rolling Thunder Wind Farm Hybrid | Wind | 25.8 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Hand County?
- NorthWestern Energy - (SD), Northern Electric Coop, Inc, Dakota Energy Coop Inc and 2 more report serving Hand County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- Are there power plants in Hand County?
- Yes. Hand County has 2 operating power plants with 226 MW of capacity. The largest is Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC (200 MW, wind).