Checked
Pennington County, SD Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Pennington County, South Dakota.
- South Dakota home electricity
- 15.37¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 27
- 60 ports
- Electric utilities
- 4
- Serving Pennington County
Electric utilities serving Pennington County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole South Dakota service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Black Hills Power, Inc.Investor Owned | 82,900 | 15.12¢/kWh | $106/mo |
| West River Electric Assn IncCooperative | 21,332 | 15.16¢/kWh | $136/mo |
| Black Hills Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 11,478 | 14.79¢/kWh | $166/mo |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal | 25 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Pennington County
27 public stations, DC fast first
- Wall, SD - Tesla Supercharger
418 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Rapid City, SD - Tesla Supercharger
2200 N. Maple Ave., Rapid City, SD 57701
4 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Target T2457 (Rapid City, SD)
1415 Eglin St, Rapid Ciy, SD 57703
4 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Wall Drug Store-Wall Conoco Station (Wall, SD)
311 South Blvd, Wall, SD 57790
4 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Granite Automotive
2454 East Mall Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701
2 DC fast · Blink · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Secfirstbnk Secfirstbnk-A
1919 Hope Ct, Rapid City, SD 57701
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Secfirstbnk Secfirstbnk-B
1919 Hope Ct, Rapid City, SD 57701
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Secfirstbnk Secfirstbnk-C
1919 Hope Ct, Rapid City, SD 57701
1 DC fast · ChargePoint · CHAdeMO, CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Doubletree by Hilton Rapid City Downtown Convention Center - Tesla Destination
505 North 5th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
6 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
- Mount Rushmore National Memorial - Tesla Destination
13000 Hwy 244, Keystone, SD 57751
6 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · Tesla (NACS)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 2 |
| Propane (autogas) | 3 |
Power plants in Pennington County
278 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Wild Springs | Solar | 128 MW |
| Ben French | Natural gas | 110 MW |
| Lange Generating Station | Natural gas | 40.0 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Pennington County?
- Black Hills Power, Inc., West River Electric Assn Inc, Black Hills Electric Coop, Inc and 1 more report serving Pennington County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Pennington County?
- There are 27 public EV charging stations in Pennington County with 60 ports, 10 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Pennington County?
- Yes. Pennington County has 3 operating power plants with 278 MW of capacity. The largest is Wild Springs (128 MW, solar).