Checked
Denton County, TX Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Denton County, Texas.
- Texas home electricity
- 15.88¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Texas regular gas
- $3.70/gal
- Week of 10/19/2026
- EV charging stations
- 114
- 381 ports
- Electric utilities
- 6
- Serving Denton County
Electric utilities serving Denton County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Texas service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Denton County Elec Coop, IncCooperative | 337,015 | 13.18¢/kWh | $157/mo |
| Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (TX)Cooperative | 139,530 | 15.07¢/kWh | $228/mo |
| City of Denton - (TX)Municipal | 71,027 | 13.60¢/kWh | $128/mo |
| Wise Electric Coop IncCooperative | 27,360 | 15.33¢/kWh | $221/mo |
| Cooke County Elec Coop AssnCooperative | 18,445 | 15.46¢/kWh | $181/mo |
| City of Sanger - (TX)Municipal | 2,624 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Denton County
114 public stations, DC fast first
- Fort Worth, TX - North Freeway - Tesla Supercharger
15901 N Fwy, Fort Worth, TX 76177
20 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Lewisville, TX - Tesla Supercharger
725 Hebron Parkway, Lewisville, TX 75057
12 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Bucees Denton MB.HPC
2800 South Interstate 35 East, Denton, TX 76210
10 DC fast · Mercedes-Benz High-Power Charging · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Carrollton Station TX
3044 Old Denton Rd, Carrollton, TX 75007
8 DC fast · Red E · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Denton, TX - South Interstate 35 - Tesla Supercharger
2800 S I- 35, Denton, TX 76210
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Plano, TX - West Spring Creek Parkway - Tesla Supercharger
7040 W Spring Creek Pkwy, Plano, TX 75024
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Walmart EV Charging
11700 US Highway 380, Cross Roads, TX 76227
8 DC fast · Walmart · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Walmart EV Charging
1035 Hickory Creek Blvd, Hickory Creek, TX 75065
8 DC fast · Walmart · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Walmart EV Charging
1228 N Highway 377, Roanoke, TX 76262
8 DC fast · Walmart · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Denton, TX - Tesla Supercharger
2700 West University Drive, Denton, TX 76201
6 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 7 |
| Propane (autogas) | 12 |
Power plants in Denton County
1.1 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Noble Solar | Solar | 400 MW |
| Porter Solar, LLC (TX) | Solar | 245 MW |
| Denton Energy Center | Natural gas | 226 MW |
| Spencer | Natural gas | 127 MW |
| TX10 Hummingbird Storage | Battery storage | 100 MW |
| Farmers Branch Renewable Energy Facility | Biomass | 3.2 MW |
| Lewisville | Hydroelectric | 2.8 MW |
| BKV-BPP Ponder Solar | Solar | 2.5 MW |
| CoServ Community Solar Station | Solar | 2.0 MW |
| Wal3777 | Petroleum | 1.3 MW |
| Heb00789 | Natural gas | 1.2 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Denton County?
- Denton County Elec Coop, Inc, Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (TX), City of Denton - (TX) and 3 more report serving Denton County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Denton County?
- There are 114 public EV charging stations in Denton County with 381 ports, 20 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Denton County?
- Yes. Denton County has 11 operating power plants with 1.1 GW of capacity. The largest is Noble Solar (400 MW, solar).