Checked
Electric Utilities in Maine
15 utilities and 29 retail electricity providers reported sales in Maine for 2025 (EIA Form 861).
Utilities
Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Utility | Customers | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Maine Power CoInvestor Owned | 664,975 | 27.41¢/kWh | $147/mo |
| 2 | Versant PowerInvestor Owned | 165,411 | 30.15¢/kWh | $150/mo |
| 3 | Eastern Maine Electric CoopCooperative | 13,231 | 19.36¢/kWh | $101/mo |
| 4 | Kennebunk Light & Power DistMunicipal | 7,597 | 13.46¢/kWh | $103/mo |
| 5 | Houlton Water CompanyMunicipal | 5,498 | 14.16¢/kWh | $109/mo |
| 6 | Town of Madison - (ME)Municipal | 2,693 | 15.01¢/kWh | $106/mo |
| 7 | Fox Islands Electric Coop, IncCooperative | 2,151 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 8 | EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter | 1,670 | 24.59¢/kWh | $151/mo |
| 9 | Van Buren Light & Power DistMunicipal | 1,369 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10 | Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter | 883 | 17.08¢/kWh | $107/mo |
| 11 | Matinicus Plantation Elec CoMunicipal | 132 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 12 | Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter | 63 | Not reported | $273/mo |
| 13 | Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter | 23 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 14 | Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 15 | SunnovaBehind the Meter | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Retail electricity providers
Companies that sell electricity supply while the local utility delivers it
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the biggest electric company in Maine?
- Central Maine Power Co had the most customers in Maine in 2025, about 664,975.
- How do I find which utility serves my address in Maine?
- Open your county page from the Maine energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025