Skip to content

Checked

Electric Utilities in North Carolina

111 utilities reported sales in North Carolina for 2025 (EIA Form 861).

Utilities

Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

#UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
1Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned2,274,89613.41¢/kWh$134/mo
2Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned1,605,33015.19¢/kWh$159/mo
3EnergyUnited Elec Member CorpCooperative145,02811.61¢/kWh$141/mo
4Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned128,52212.74¢/kWh$164/mo
5Brunswick Electric Member CorpCooperative118,32613.34¢/kWh$144/mo
6Union Electric Membership Corp - (NC)Cooperative90,14813.92¢/kWh$170/mo
7Jones-Onslow Elec Member CorpCooperative85,80113.39¢/kWh$151/mo
8Fayetteville Public Works CommissionMunicipal85,08812.14¢/kWh$122/mo
9Blue Ridge Elec Member Corp - (NC)Cooperative81,17514.92¢/kWh$135/mo
10Rutherford Elec Member CorpCooperative77,77713.02¢/kWh$149/mo
11Greenville Utilities CommMunicipal75,23812.68¢/kWh$131/mo
12Lumbee River Elec Member CorpCooperative68,28514.32¢/kWh$194/mo
13Wake Electric Membership CorpCooperative58,98714.29¢/kWh$160/mo
14South River Elec Member CorpCooperative49,06714.56¢/kWh$190/mo
15Town of High PointMunicipal44,67011.66¢/kWh$109/mo
16Carteret-Craven El Member CorpCooperative43,75612.46¢/kWh$131/mo
17French Broad Elec Member CorpCooperative39,93116.21¢/kWh$131/mo
18City of Wilson - (NC)Municipal37,19212.85¢/kWh$143/mo
19Four County Elec Member CorpCooperative35,95915.10¢/kWh$193/mo
20Piedmont Electric Member CorpCooperative34,85915.63¢/kWh$186/mo
21City of Concord - (NC)Municipal34,44511.57¢/kWh$120/mo
22Randolph Electric Member CorpCooperative34,31216.15¢/kWh$170/mo
23City of Gastonia - (NC)Municipal31,93112.34¢/kWh$111/mo
24Town of Apex- (NC)Municipal31,90716.72¢/kWh$127/mo
25Haywood Electric Member CorpCooperative31,28816.86¢/kWh$139/mo
26Surry-Yadkin Elec Member CorpCooperative28,59717.53¢/kWh$186/mo
27City of Rocky Mount - (NC)Municipal27,93713.16¢/kWh$144/mo
28Tri-County Elec Member Corp (NC)Cooperative27,41913.29¢/kWh$172/mo
29City of New Bern - (NC)Municipal25,37214.76¢/kWh$156/mo
30Tideland Electric Member CorpCooperative24,72616.41¢/kWh$161/mo
31Central Electric Membership Corp. - (NC)Cooperative23,32515.37¢/kWh$220/mo
32Pee Dee Electric Member CorpCooperative22,35515.58¢/kWh$183/mo
33City of Lexington - (NC)Municipal20,53311.62¢/kWh$131/mo
34Blue Ridge Mountain EMC - (GA)Cooperative20,41414.78¢/kWh$142/mo
35Mountain Electric Coop, IncCooperative20,16513.17¢/kWh$129/mo
36City of Statesville - (NC)Municipal15,25311.50¢/kWh$105/mo
37City of Washington - (NC)Municipal14,31412.98¢/kWh$135/mo
38Roanoke Electric Member CorpCooperative14,06520.70¢/kWh$243/mo
39Albemarle Electric Member CorpCooperative13,95115.15¢/kWh$198/mo
40City of Monroe - (NC)Municipal13,73311.72¢/kWh$114/mo
41City of Elizabeth City - (NC)Municipal13,68612.03¢/kWh$138/mo
42City of Albemarle - (NC)Municipal13,59211.27¢/kWh$124/mo
43Halifax Electric Member CorpCooperative12,378Not reportedNot reported
44City of Kinston - (NC)Municipal12,04212.96¢/kWh$142/mo
45Edgecombe-Martin County E M CCooperative11,94216.51¢/kWh$195/mo
46City of Lumberton - (NC)Municipal11,79013.86¢/kWh$114/mo
47Town of Clayton - (NC)Municipal9,415Not reportedNot reported
48Town of Huntersville - (NC)Municipal9,41112.57¢/kWh$112/mo
49Pitt & Greene Elec Member CorpCooperative9,267Not reportedNot reported
50City of Shelby - (NC)Municipal9,219Not reportedNot reported
51New River Light & Power CoState9,17812.06¢/kWh$89/mo
52City of Morganton - (NC)Municipal8,91111.59¢/kWh$104/mo
53Town of Wake Forest - (NC)Municipal8,774Not reportedNot reported
54Cape Hatteras Elec Member CorpCooperative8,194Not reportedNot reported
55Town of Tarboro - (NC)Municipal6,35913.93¢/kWh$135/mo
56Town of Smithfield - (NC)Municipal5,830Not reportedNot reported
57City of Laurinburg - (NC)Municipal5,598Not reportedNot reported
58Town of Murphy - (NC)Municipal5,49113.39¢/kWh$147/mo
59City of Kings Mountain - (NC)Municipal5,487Not reportedNot reported
60Town of Ayden - (NC)Municipal5,012Not reportedNot reported
61City of Newton - (NC)Municipal4,946Not reportedNot reported
62Town of Edenton - (NC)Municipal4,317Not reportedNot reported
63Town of Forest CityMunicipal4,288Not reportedNot reported
64Town of Dallas - (NC)Municipal4,041Not reportedNot reported
65Town of Cornelius - (NC)Municipal4,026Not reportedNot reported
66Town of Pineville - (NC)Municipal4,026Not reportedNot reported
67Town of Landis - (NC)Municipal3,682Not reportedNot reported
68City of Southport - (NC)Municipal3,635Not reportedNot reported
69Town of Waynesville - (NC)Municipal3,568Not reportedNot reported
70City of Winterville - (NC)Municipal3,427Not reportedNot reported
71Town of Farmville - (NC)Municipal3,193Not reportedNot reported
72Town of Selma - (NC)Municipal3,049Not reportedNot reported
73City of Lincolnton - (NC)Municipal3,042Not reportedNot reported
74City of Highlands - (NC)Municipal2,974Not reportedNot reported
75City of Cherryville - (NC)Municipal2,653Not reportedNot reported
76Town of Granite Falls - (NC)Municipal2,638Not reportedNot reported
77Town of Benson - (NC)Municipal2,245Not reportedNot reported
78Town of Louisburg - (NC)Municipal2,132Not reportedNot reported
79Town of La Grange - (NC)Municipal1,949Not reportedNot reported
80Tri-State Electric Member CorpCooperative1,81015.56¢/kWh$132/mo
81Town of Red Springs - (NC)Municipal1,754Not reportedNot reported
82Town of Windsor- (NC)Municipal1,746Not reportedNot reported
83Town of Scotland Neck - (NC)Municipal1,355Not reportedNot reported
84Town of Maiden - (NC)Municipal1,346Not reportedNot reported
85Town of Stantonsburg - (NC)Municipal1,335Not reportedNot reported
86Town of Sharpsburg - (NC)Municipal1,260Not reportedNot reported
87Town of Drexel - (NC)Municipal1,256Not reportedNot reported
88Town of Enfield - (NC)Municipal1,220Not reportedNot reported
89City of Hertford - (NC)Municipal1,202Not reportedNot reported
90Town of Lucama - (NC)Municipal1,151Not reportedNot reported
91Town of Belhaven - (NC)Municipal1,096Not reportedNot reported
92City of Robersonville - (NC)Municipal893Not reportedNot reported
93Town of Black Creek - (NC)Municipal864Not reportedNot reported
94Town of Fremont - (NC)Municipal762Not reportedNot reported
95Town of Pinetops - (NC)Municipal704Not reportedNot reported
96Town of Pikeville - (NC)Municipal514Not reportedNot reported
97Broad River Electric Coop, IncCooperative49816.65¢/kWh$189/mo
98Town of Hookerton - (NC)Municipal398Not reportedNot reported
99Town of Fountain - (NC)Municipal297Not reportedNot reported
100Town of MacClesfield - (NC)Municipal274Not reportedNot reported
101Town of HobgoodMunicipal267Not reportedNot reported
102Town of Hamilton - (NC)Municipal245Not reportedNot reported
103Town of Oak City - (NC)Municipal225Not reportedNot reported
104Town of Bostic - (NC)Municipal209Not reportedNot reported
105Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter17819.04¢/kWh$188/mo
106Mecklenburg Electric CooperativeCooperative14213.90¢/kWh$160/mo
107Town of WalstonburgMunicipal137Not reportedNot reported
108York Electric Coop IncCooperative19Not reportedNot reported
109Tennessee Valley AuthorityFederal4Not reportedNot reported
110Greenbacker Renewable Energy CorporationBehind the Meter3Not reportedNot reported
111SunnovaBehind the MeterNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.

Frequently asked questions

What is the biggest electric company in North Carolina?
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC had the most customers in North Carolina in 2025, about 2,274,896.
How do I find which utility serves my address in North Carolina?
Open your county page from the North Carolina energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025

Share: