Checked
Electric Utilities in Rhode Island
9 utilities and 26 retail electricity providers reported sales in Rhode Island for 2025 (EIA Form 861).
Utilities
Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Utility | Customers | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Narragansett Electric CoInvestor Owned | 523,392 | 29.45¢/kWh | $166/mo |
| 2 | Clear River Electric and Water DistrictMunicipal | 4,999 | 19.06¢/kWh | $132/mo |
| 3 | Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter | 3,605 | 28.90¢/kWh | $163/mo |
| 4 | Block Island Utility DistrictPolitical Subdivision | 2,024 | 38.67¢/kWh | $151/mo |
| 5 | Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter | 309 | Not reported | $131/mo |
| 6 | EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter | 184 | 25.55¢/kWh | $161/mo |
| 7 | Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter | 114 | Not reported | $125/mo |
| 8 | Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 9 | SunnovaBehind the Meter | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Retail electricity providers
Companies that sell electricity supply while the local utility delivers it
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the biggest electric company in Rhode Island?
- The Narragansett Electric Co had the most customers in Rhode Island in 2025, about 523,392.
- How do I find which utility serves my address in Rhode Island?
- Open your county page from the Rhode Island energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025