Skip to content

Checked

Electric Utilities in Virginia

35 utilities and 7 retail electricity providers reported sales in Virginia for 2025 (EIA Form 861).

Utilities

Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

#UtilityCustomersHome priceHome bill
1Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned2,681,23115.20¢/kWh$158/mo
2Appalachian Power CoInvestor Owned551,87617.16¢/kWh$186/mo
3Rappahannock Electric CoopCooperative184,42115.49¢/kWh$185/mo
4Northern Virginia Elec CoopCooperative184,10412.60¢/kWh$144/mo
5Shenandoah Valley Elec CoopCooperative102,23014.49¢/kWh$174/mo
6Southside Electric Coop, IncCooperative59,79915.48¢/kWh$180/mo
7City of Danville - (VA)Municipal43,41615.81¢/kWh$162/mo
8Central Virginia Electric CoopCooperative40,19416.16¢/kWh$200/mo
9A & N Electric CoopCooperative37,49114.40¢/kWh$143/mo
10Mecklenburg Electric CooperativeCooperative32,00914.32¢/kWh$150/mo
11Kentucky Utilities CoInvestor Owned27,58515.32¢/kWh$190/mo
12City of Harrisonburg - (VA)Municipal21,77011.51¢/kWh$112/mo
13Northern Neck Elec Coop, IncCooperative20,90616.01¢/kWh$192/mo
14City of Manassas - (VA)Municipal16,63312.31¢/kWh$136/mo
15Bristol Virginia UtilitiesMunicipal16,51811.62¢/kWh$144/mo
16City of Salem - (VA)Municipal13,65415.51¢/kWh$147/mo
17BARC Electric Coop IncCooperative13,117Not reportedNot reported
18Prince George Electric CoopCooperative12,47413.52¢/kWh$188/mo
19Community Electric CoopCooperative12,106Not reportedNot reported
20Powell Valley Electric CoopCooperative8,40612.13¢/kWh$140/mo
21Town of Front RoyalMunicipal7,811Not reportedNot reported
22City of Martinsville - (VA)Municipal7,787Not reportedNot reported
23City of Radford - (VA)Municipal7,598Not reportedNot reported
24Town of Bedford - (VA)Municipal7,070Not reportedNot reported
25Craig-Botetourt Electric CoopCooperative6,955Not reportedNot reported
26Virginia Tech Electric ServiceState6,93218.43¢/kWh$148/mo
27Town of Culpeper- (VA)Municipal6,006Not reportedNot reported
28City of Franklin - (VA)Municipal5,722Not reportedNot reported
29Town of Richlands - (VA)Municipal2,419Not reportedNot reported
30Town of Blackstone - (VA)Municipal2,056Not reportedNot reported
31Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter1,12519.72¢/kWh$48/mo
32Town of ElktonMunicipal1,112Not reportedNot reported
33Town of Wakefield - (VA)Municipal540Not reportedNot reported
34Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter68Not reported$15/mo
35SunnovaBehind the MeterNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Retail electricity providers

Companies that sell electricity supply while the local utility delivers it

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

ProviderCustomersHome priceHome bill
Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer234Not reportedNot reported
Texas Retail Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer111Not reportedNot reported
Direct Energy BusinessRetail Power Marketer99Not reportedNot reported
Collegiate Clean Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer94Not reportedNot reported
Calpine Energy Solutions, LLCRetail Power Marketer28Not reportedNot reported
BP Energy Retail LLCRetail Power Marketer11Not reportedNot reported
MP2 Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer10Not reportedNot reported

Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.

Frequently asked questions

What is the biggest electric company in Virginia?
Virginia Electric & Power Co had the most customers in Virginia in 2025, about 2,681,231.
How do I find which utility serves my address in Virginia?
Open your county page from the Virginia energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025