Checked
Electric Utilities in West Virginia
11 utilities reported sales in West Virginia for 2025 (EIA Form 861).
Utilities
Customers in this state. Home price and bill are for bundled service (generation and delivery)
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| # | Utility | Customers | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Appalachian Power CoInvestor Owned | 416,767 | 16.97¢/kWh | $196/mo |
| 2 | Monongahela Power CoInvestor Owned | 397,362 | 14.31¢/kWh | $133/mo |
| 3 | The Potomac Edison CompanyInvestor Owned | 160,340 | 13.10¢/kWh | $165/mo |
| 4 | Wheeling Power CoInvestor Owned | 41,072 | 17.61¢/kWh | $166/mo |
| 5 | Harrison Rural Elec Assn, IncCooperative | 7,144 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 6 | Black Diamond Power CoInvestor Owned | 3,693 | 20.10¢/kWh | $172/mo |
| 7 | City of New Martinsville - (WV)Municipal | 1,740 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 8 | Philippi Municipal ElectricMunicipal | 1,703 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 9 | Craig-Botetourt Electric CoopCooperative | 484 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10 | Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter | 54 | Not reported | $23/mo |
| 11 | SunnovaBehind the Meter | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Small utilities that file the short form (EIA-861S) report only total sales, so their home price and bill are not reported.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the biggest electric company in West Virginia?
- Appalachian Power Co had the most customers in West Virginia in 2025, about 416,767.
- How do I find which utility serves my address in West Virginia?
- Open your county page from the West Virginia energy overview. It lists the utilities that report serving each county. Your power bill also names your utility.
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Form EIA-861 (2025) · Data for 2025