Skip to content

Checked

Sussex County, VA Energy

Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Sussex County, Virginia.

Virginia home electricity
17.55¢/kWh
July 2026
Regular gas, region
$3.86/gal
Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C)
EV charging stations
2
11 ports
Electric utilities
6
Serving Sussex County

Electric utilities serving Sussex County

As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Virginia service area

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

UtilityCustomers in stateHome priceHome bill
Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned2,681,23115.20¢/kWh$158/mo
Southside Electric Coop, IncCooperative59,79915.48¢/kWh$180/mo
Mecklenburg Electric CooperativeCooperative32,00914.32¢/kWh$150/mo
Prince George Electric CoopCooperative12,47413.52¢/kWh$188/mo
Community Electric CoopCooperative12,106Not reportedNot reported
Town of Wakefield - (VA)Municipal540Not reportedNot reported

EV charging in Sussex County

2 public stations, DC fast first

All 2

Power plants in Sussex County

138 MW of operating capacity

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

PlantFuelCapacity
Waverly Solar, LLCSolar118 MW
Sussex Drive, LLCSolar20.0 MW

Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.

Frequently asked questions

What electric company serves Sussex County?
Virginia Electric & Power Co, Southside Electric Coop, Inc, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative and 3 more report serving Sussex County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
How many EV charging stations are in Sussex County?
There are 2 public EV charging stations in Sussex County with 11 ports, 1 of them with DC fast charging.
Are there power plants in Sussex County?
Yes. Sussex County has 2 operating power plants with 138 MW of capacity. The largest is Waverly Solar, LLC (118 MW, solar).