Checked
Barron County, WI Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Barron County, Wisconsin.
- Wisconsin home electricity
- 19.06¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 7
- 15 ports
- Electric utilities
- 10
- Serving Barron County
Electric utilities serving Barron County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Wisconsin service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power CoInvestor Owned | 265,062 | 15.56¢/kWh | $113/mo |
| Polk-Burnett Electric CoopCooperative | 22,408 | 15.96¢/kWh | $127/mo |
| Barron Electric CoopCooperative | 19,794 | 16.02¢/kWh | $141/mo |
| Dunn County Electric CoopCooperative | 10,676 | 16.17¢/kWh | $160/mo |
| Jump River Electric Coop IncCooperative | 10,215 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Chippewa Valley Electric CoopCooperative | 8,005 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rice Lake UtilitiesMunicipal | 6,085 | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Central Power Co IncInvestor Owned | 5,591 | 16.38¢/kWh | $74/mo |
| City of Barron - (WI)Municipal | 1,865 | Not reported | Not reported |
| City of Cumberland - (WI)Municipal | 1,453 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Barron County
7 public stations, DC fast first
- Kwik Trip #922
201 S 1st St, Cameron, WI 54822
4 DC fast · Kwik Charge · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Temporarily unavailable
- Bear Lake Coffee Co. - Tesla Destination
2980 US-63, Barronett, WI 54813
2 Level 2 · Tesla Destination · J1772 (Level 2), Tesla (NACS)
- SP Unit #1 Unit #1
1705 16th Ave 12th ave, Cumberland, WI 54829
2 Level 2 · ChargePoint · J1772 (Level 2)
- Barron Electric Cooperative - Barron Office
1434 Wisconsin 25, Barron, WI 54812
1 Level 2 · Zef Network · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Ethanol (E85) | 3 |
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in Barron County
33.4 MW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Cumberland (WI) | Natural gas | 21.2 MW |
| Rice Lake Solar Array | Solar | 3.8 MW |
| Barron Solar Array | Solar | 3.0 MW |
| Rice Lake II | Solar | 2.8 MW |
| Cumberland Solar | Solar | 2.5 MW |
| Barron | Hydroelectric | 0.1 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Barron County?
- Northern States Power Co, Polk-Burnett Electric Coop, Barron Electric Coop and 7 more report serving Barron County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Barron County?
- There are 7 public EV charging stations in Barron County with 15 ports, 2 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Barron County?
- Yes. Barron County has 6 operating power plants with 33.4 MW of capacity. The largest is Cumberland (WI) (21.2 MW, natural gas).