Checked
Marathon County, WI Energy
Electric utilities, power plants and charging stations in Marathon County, Wisconsin.
- Wisconsin home electricity
- 19.06¢/kWh
- July 2026
- Regular gas, region
- $4.15/gal
- Midwest (PADD 2)
- EV charging stations
- 8
- 30 ports
- Electric utilities
- 8
- Serving Marathon County
Electric utilities serving Marathon County
As reported to EIA for 2025. A utility may serve only part of the county. Customers and prices are for its whole Wisconsin service area
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Utility | Customers in state | Home price | Home bill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wisconsin Power & Light CoInvestor Owned | 505,706 | 18.47¢/kWh | $128/mo |
| Wisconsin Public Service CorpInvestor Owned | 472,199 | 17.20¢/kWh | $106/mo |
| Northern States Power CoInvestor Owned | 265,062 | 15.56¢/kWh | $113/mo |
| City of Marshfield - (WI)Municipal | 14,008 | 10.33¢/kWh | $73/mo |
| Clark Electric Coop - (WI)Cooperative | 9,770 | 14.45¢/kWh | $178/mo |
| Central Wisconsin Elec CoopCooperative | 8,358 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Taylor Electric Coop - (WI)Cooperative | 4,575 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Village of Stratford - (WI)Municipal | 1,028 | Not reported | Not reported |
EV charging in Marathon County
8 public stations, DC fast first
- Wausau, WI - North Mountain Road - Tesla Supercharger
2101 North Mountain Rd, Wausau, WI 54401
8 DC fast · Tesla Supercharger · Tesla (NACS)
- Target T0364 (Schofield, WI)
2707 Schofield Avenue, Schofield, WI 54476
6 DC fast · Electrify America · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Kwik Trip #322
1440 W Campus Dr, Wausau, WI 54401
4 DC fast · Kwik Charge · CCS (J1772 Combo), Tesla (NACS)
- Colby Chrysler, Inc - DCFC
820 South Division Street, Colby, WI 54421
2 DC fast · Blink · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- O'Malley Automotive
3405 W. STEWART AVENUE, WAUSAU, WI 54401
2 DC fast · EV Connect · CCS (J1772 Combo)
- Colby Chrysler, Inc - Level 2
820 South Division Street, Colby, WI 54421
2 Level 2 · Blink · J1772 (Level 2)
Alternative fuel stations
| Fuel | Stations |
|---|---|
| Compressed natural gas (CNG) | 1 |
| Ethanol (E85) | 8 |
| Propane (autogas) | 1 |
Power plants in Marathon County
1.2 GW of operating capacity
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Plant | Fuel | Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Weston | Coal | 946 MW |
| Weston RICE | Natural gas | 132 MW |
| Rothschild Biomass Cogen Facility | Biomass | 57.5 MW |
| Mosinee Mill | Biomass | 23.4 MW |
| Wausau | Hydroelectric | 5.4 MW |
| Domtar Paper Company Rothschild | Hydroelectric | 1.1 MW |
Electricity rates and gas prices are state or regional averages. Utility service areas come from EIA Form 861 and are listed by county, so a utility listed here may not serve every address in the county.
Frequently asked questions
- What electric company serves Marathon County?
- Wisconsin Power & Light Co, Wisconsin Public Service Corp, Northern States Power Co and 5 more report serving Marathon County to EIA. Check your bill or address with the utility to confirm which one serves you.
- How many EV charging stations are in Marathon County?
- There are 8 public EV charging stations in Marathon County with 30 ports, 7 of them with DC fast charging.
- Are there power plants in Marathon County?
- Yes. Marathon County has 6 operating power plants with 1.2 GW of capacity. The largest is Weston (946 MW, coal).